Tarling at the double on Historic day at Snetterton

Double Historic FF1600 racer winner Richard Tarling leading the pack going into Wilson Hairpin at Sn

Double Historic FF1600 racer winner Richard Tarling leading the pack going into Wilson Hairpin at Snetterton. Picture: Paul Lawrence - Credit: Archant

The Historic open wheel festival was a resounding success at Snetterton on Saturday with Richard Tarling winning both scintillating FF1600 encounters.

A four-car battle raged race-long in the opening event, with Tarling able to oust Callum Grant on the final lap to secure a narrow victory.

Race two followed a similar pattern, with just inches separating Tarling and Michael O'Brien at the finish as the former swept by in the final few feet while Grant and Cameron Jackson also took turns to lead the thrilling event.

Marc Mercer was another double winner, dominating the Historic FF2000/URS FF2000 races. King's Lynn's Chris Levy finished third in the URS section in race two, one place better than earlier, while Harleston's Colin Wright finished sixth and seventh in his category.

No one could stop Bury St Edmunds' Will Mitcham in either of the Formula Junior races as Mark Charteris continued his winning streak in the Classic Clubmans while the Historic F3 races easily fell to Andrew Hibberd.

You may also want to watch:

Gaius Chinn always had Pat Gormley's Classic Racing Car challenge under control in both of their events, while East Wretham's James Denty was a category winner in the second race, but had to settle for second behind Adrian Langridge in the opening event.

Clive Hudson and Paul Boyd matched each other in the Sport Specials events on Sunday, with a win and a second resulting in the title going to Boyd by just four points.

Most Read

Newly-crowned 750 Formula champion Bill Cowley did manage to head David Bartholomew for a short period in the opening race, but the latter totally controlled events in race two to ensure he completed a double.

Shaun Traynor needed a pair of victories in the Toyota MR2 races to steal the title away from Lewis Ward, which he managed to achieve by leading every lap, with his rival second in race one and fourth in the concluding event.

With a brace of Bikesports victories Stefano Leaney secured the title with a last-lap pass on Chris Preen required to claim the second victory.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus