Taking the Liberty – for the sixth time

Norfolk's bowlers lifted the Liberty Trophy for the sixth time when they steamrollered Somerset, 151-66, in the final of the national indoor inter-county championship at Nottingham yesterday.

Somerset had stormed past Devon, Essex and Kent on their way to the final, but were completely outplayed from the start, with Tim Stone's rink leading the winning charge with a 37-9 scorecard against Steve Wiltshire.

Jamie Chestney weighed in with a 30-11 win over Wales international Chris Keating, who now plays in Bristol, and Mervyn King added a 24-8 win over Paul Bryant.

All six Norfolk rinks returned winning cards, Phillip Barr and Richard Mason winning by eight apiece, and Wayne Willgress beating a rink skipped by Somerset's replacement skip Andy Colebrooke, 18-11.

The Norfolk men's triumph followed that of North Walsham ladies, who won the Yetton Plate, beating Croydon 92-74 in the final.

Liberty Trophy rink details (Norfolk names first): Steffan Adcock, Will Graves, Robin Norman, Phillips Barr 21, Andrew Owens, Richard Withers, Terry Perkins, Mark Denslow 14; George Tubby, Robert Parker, Mark Turner, Tim Stone 37, Aaron Poolman, Pete Birmingham, Jason Sparkes, Steve Wiltshire 9; Jake Willgress, Michael Brown, Paul Shackcloth, Jamie Chestney 30, Andrew Cowlin, Barrie Smith, Richard Billington, Chris Keating 11; James Howlett, Steven Lowe, Mark Riches, Mervyn King 24, Mike Humphries, Steve Hooper, Barrie Forse, Paul Bryant 8; Mark Elliott, Daniel Page, Bernie Perrett, Wayne Willgress 18, Mark Woods, Matt Hamilton, Craig Doughty, Andy Colebrooke 11; John Ottaway, Bryan Saddler, Brian Taylor, Richard Mason 21, Ben Hamilton, Simon Barnard, Louis Ridout, Neil Kunc 13.

• Twenty-four teams representing 11 Norfolk clubs entered the County Arts Junior Pairs Tournament. With six groups of four teams everyone was guaranteed three games in the group stages with the six group winners and two best runners-up making the last eight. In the final Tom Segolo and Dan Mills beat last year's winners James Segolo and Dan Seabourne to win the Ian Arthurton Memorial Trophy, presented by Margaret Arthurton. The runners-up trophies were donated by Bob Blogg.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter