Poignant victory for cyclo-cross ace

"This is the one I wanted", said Shaun Aldous, holding the Joe Waller Memorial Cup after the cyclo-cross on Broome Heath near Bungay.

"This is the one I wanted", said Shaun Aldous, holding the Joe Waller Memorial Cup after the cyclo-cross on Broome Heath near Bungay.

Joe had been, before his death in a car crash two years ago, a friend of Aldous and cyclo-cross rival as well as colleague on the same shift at Clays the Bungay printers.

Aldous's quest to win the cup did not go entirely according to plan, however.

During the usual frenetic first lap he came off on a slippery corner, letting Nathan Miller of the Ipswich Bicycle Club into a lead that he did not give up without a spirited fight.

Just before half distance Aldous got ahead and opened an eventual two-minute margin, while Miller found himself pipped on the line by Nick Ainsworth (Fat Birds CC) who put in a storming last lap.

A bright winter sun shone across the mossy surfaces of this former sand and gravel pit, where sandy run-ups and steep climbs force several dismounts, not to mention a few unintentional partings with the bike. Perhaps as a consequence, several competitors were troubled by cramp including fourth-placed Ian Newby (Diss & District CC).

Most Read

Carl Harris (Fat Birds) was clear winner of the junior award, but had a tight finish with two veterans - Colin Newstead (IBC) who slipped his wheel in front and classic old-stager Colin Cracknell (also IBC) who had to give way by two seconds.

In the youth race Tom Castle (Ipswich BC) put in his best ride of the season finishing just 38 seconds down on winner Luke Newby and ahead of rivals Matt Cook and Dominic Schils. In the under-12s it was Alan Trolove of West Suffolk Wheelers who broke into the established order taking third place, 53 seconds behind winner George Wood.

Forthcoming cycling events include the East Anglian CC's 15 kilometre time trial on Christmas Day at 10.30am on the Holt Road, just north of Horsford and 10-mile events on Boxing Day at Somerleyton (10.30am) and Scoulton near Watton (11am).

Of especial interest to newcomers will be the Norwich Amateur Bicycle Club's New Years Eve ride. Meet at the Sports Park, University Drive, Norwich 9.30am. After an easy-pace ride, participants will mull over their experiences in the Sports Park café. Darrel Glover (01953) 455772 can tell you more. Last year the age range was roughly 8-70 years, so few need fear feeling out-of-place.

Brome Heath Scramble results: 1 Shaun Aldous (Interbike RT) 10 laps in 57:20; 2 Nick Ainsworth (Fat Birds) +2:20; 3 Nathan Miller (Ipswich BC) +2:20; 4 Ian Newby (Diss & District CC) +3:19; 5 Tim Bonnett (VC +Baracchi) 3:34; 6 Mark Farrow first veteran (API/Metrow) +4:45; 10 +Clive Ling Vet

(Diss & District CC) +1 lap +0:17; 14 Philip Hargreaves Vet (VC Norwich / Fitt Signs) +1 lap +0:38;17 Patrick Harbord (VC Baracchi) +1 lap +1:20; 18 Chris Guy (Interbike RT) +1 lap +1:31; 23 Neil Stevens (VC Norwich / Fitt Signs) ; 29 Carl Harris first junior (Fat Birds) +1 lap +5:50; 35 Richard Dunnett (Diss & District CC) 37 Alan McLaren (Norwich ABC) +2 laps +1:41; 38 James Hewitt Jun (Fakenham Premier) 40 Stephen Dunnett Vet (Diss & District CC) +2 laps +2:49; 41 Paul Harris Vet (Fat Birds) 43 Alastair Main Vet (Godric CC) 50 Jen Ives first woman.

Youth: 1 Luke Newby (Diss & District CC) 5 laps in 31:45; 2 Tom Castle (Ipswich BC) +0:38; 3 Matthew Cook (Mildenhall CC) +1:06; 4 Dominic Schils (Interbike RT) +1:36; 5 Elliot Brooker (CC Ashwell) +1:51; 6 William Meadows (Ipswich BC) +1:52 Under 12: 1 George Wood (Southend Wheelers) 5 laps in 11:47; 2 Sean Dunlea (PCA Ciclos Uno) +0:21; 3 Alan Trolove (West Suffolk Whls) +0:53; 4 James Arden 1st U10 (Norwich ABC).