Norwich City draw a blank in PFA Championship team of the year

Brighton's Anthony Knockaert is one of four Seagulls' players in the PFA Championship team of the ye

Brighton's Anthony Knockaert is one of four Seagulls' players in the PFA Championship team of the year. Picture: Paul Chesterton/Focus Images Ltd - Credit: Paul Chesterton/Focus Images Ltd

Norwich City's poor Championship season has seen the Canaries' squad miss out on being selected for the PFA Championship team of the year.

Chris Hughton's Brighton, who visit Carrow Road on Friday looking to secure the title, have four representatives in the divisional select voted for by PFA members drawn from 100 clubs in the Premier League, Football League and Women's Super League.

Seagulls' goalkeeper David Stockdale, defenders Bruno and Lewis Dunk and the division's player of the year, midfielder Anthony Knockaert, are in the nominated XI.

Newcastle provide three players in defender Jamaal Lascelles, midfielder Jonjo Shelvey and forward Dwight Gayle. The Magpies' hitman is partnered by Championship top scorer, Leeds United's 25-goal Chris Wood.

Play-off chasing Fulham, so impressive in Norfolk on Good Friday in a 3-1 league win, have two players in the team. Highly-rated youngster Ryan Sessegnon was an unused substitute at Carrow Road but Scottish international midfielder Tom Cairney was a stand out performer. Cairney is joined in the PFA Championship team of the year's midfield by Huddersfield's on-loan Aaron Mooy. The Manchester City playmaker scored in the Terriers' recent 3-0 win against the Canaries.

You may also want to watch:

The 44th annual Professional Footballers' Association awards will take place this Sunday at the Grosvenor House in London, headlined by the presentation of the player and young player of the year awards.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus