Norwich City confirm squad numbers for the 2017-18 Championship season, with loan keeper Angus Gunn taking number the number one shirt

Loan keeper Angus Gunn will wear City's number one shirt this season.
Picture by Paul Chesterton/Fo

Loan keeper Angus Gunn will wear City's number one shirt this season. Picture by Paul Chesterton/Focus Images - Credit: Paul Chesterton/Focus Images Ltd

Squad numbers for the 2017-18 Championship season have been confirmed by Norwich City.

Goalkeeper Angus Gunn takes the number one jersey during his season-long loan from Manchester City, following the summer departure of long-serving John Ruddy, who joined Wolves on a free transfer.

Of the six other new signings, left-back James Husband takes three, Southampton loanee midfielder Harrison Reed is number four, centre-backs Christoph Zimmermann and Marcel Franke take six and 28 respectively, midfielder Mario Vrancic will wear eight and Marley Watkins 12.

The other changes see right-back Ivo Pinto switch from 25 to the two vacated by Steven Whittaker, Josh Murphy from 31 to 11, James Maddison from 28 to 23 and Ben Godfrey from 35 to 22.

Youngsters Harry Toffolo (24), Jamal Lewis (26) and Remi Matthews (29) have also been given squad numbers.

French attacker Tony Andreu has not been given a number, with his future increasingly likely to be away from the club with the former Hamilton forward in the final year of his contract and only being part of the under-23 squad during pre-season.

More: Matt Jarvis to miss entire pre-season as senior pros skip Norwich City tour

Long -term injury victims Matt Jarvis (16) and Louis Thompson (35) are given numbers, with Jarvis still wrestling with an ankle problem which has seen him miss pre-season training and Thompson set to miss a big chunk of the season after a reoccurrence of his Achilles injury.

Most Read

Squad numbers in full

1 Angus Gunn

2 Ivo Pinto

3 James Husband

4 Harrison Reed

5 Russell Martin

6 Christoph Zimmermann

7 Steven Naismith

8 Mario Vrancic

9 Nelson Oliveira

10 Cameron Jerome

11 Josh Murphy

12 Marley Watkins

13 Paul Jones

14 Wes Hoolahan

15 Timm Klose

16 Matt Jarvis

17 Yanic Wildschut

21 Alex Pritchard

22 Ben Godfrey

23 James Maddison

24 Harry Toffolo

26 Jamal Lewis

27 Alex Tettey

28 Marcel Franke

29 Remi Matthews

33 Michael McGovern

34 Louis Thompson