Gary Rowett accuses James Maddison of diving to win a penalty in Norwich City’s 1-1 draw at Derby

Gary Rowett and James Maddison exchanged words during a 1-1 Championship draw at Derby. Picture by P

Gary Rowett and James Maddison exchanged words during a 1-1 Championship draw at Derby. Picture by Paul Chesterton/Focus Images Ltd - Credit: Paul Chesterton/Focus Images Ltd

James Maddison was branded a 'diver' by Derby County boss Gary Rowett after his key role in a first half penalty during a feisty 1-1 Championship draw.

Maddison tumbled in a challenge with Rams' keeper Scott Carson that Rowett insisted was all the midfielder's making.

The referee initially awarded a corner before over-turning his decision, after consulting the near side assistant. Nelson Oliveira's tame spot kick was saved by Carson.

Maddison, however, had the final say when he coolly tucked away a second half penalty to cancel out Matej Vydra's opener - after Moritz Leitner had slotted home a fraction of a second after the referee had already blown for a foul on Oliveira.

'I thought it was a clear dive,' said Rowett. 'I don't like to say that. Maddison was excellent, I would say that, he is a really talented player.


You may also want to watch:


'It happens all over the country so I am not going to vilify one individual but I felt when he knocked it past Scott Carson he left his leg in for contact.

'Yes, there is contact but if I run into you and fall over there is going to be contact. Scott didn't move towards him to entice the contact.

Most Read

'I was disappointed with that. I had no problem with the second penalty. I thought that was clear and also that Norwich were far better than us.

'What disappointed me is the referee is 25 yards away and gives a corner and the linesman, who is 40 yards away, has miraculously perfect vision.

'If you look at his angle he is straight on so there is no way you can see if there was contact. I am not going to bleat about decisions.

'I thought we were fortunate to keep our unbeaten record.'

City head coach Daniel Farke had a different view of the first half flashpoint.

'It was a clear penalty on James,' he said. 'I don't know whether because of his position the referee could not see it and that is why he had to speak to his assistant.

MORE: Have your say on our Pinkun forum

'Only compliments to the linesman that he was able to realise this situation.

'The whole stadium disagreed and the Derby coaching staff were complaining to the fourth official.

'We had another one on Josh Murphy soon after that wasn't given but you know in these situations it can happen.

'This result is scandal because there is only one team here and we should have won this game. The first 15 minutes was really close.

'You could say they deserved to score first because they were more effective but for 75 minutes only one team dominated the game and controlled it.

'We didn't give away another chance, we controlled all the counters and create many, many chances against a team who had conceded the lowest number of goals in the league.

'The referee apologised afterwards (for blowing after Leitner had scored) but thankfully James was able to score from the penalty.

'In general a draw at Derby is a good result because they are second in the table. It was an outstanding performance.'

• For the latest Norwich City news and opinion follow Group Football Editor Paddy Davitt on the following channels…

Paddy Davitt on Twitter @paddyjdavittPaddy Davitt on Instagram @pj_davittPaddy Davitt on Periscope @paddyjdavitt

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus