Norwich-based Team CCN claim clean sweep at mountain bike regional championships

Left to right: CCN riders Shaun Aldous, Glenn Stanford and Jason Smith celebrate their success at th

Left to right: CCN riders Shaun Aldous, Glenn Stanford and Jason Smith celebrate their success at the regional championships. Picture: Fergus Muir - Credit: Archant

Norwich-based Team CCN scored a 1-2-3 win in the Masters class at the mountain bike regional championships in Thetford Forest, where Glenn Stanford was the winner of this 30-39 age group with Shaun Aldous second and Jason Smith third.

Promoters Mud, Sweat & Gears attracted their biggest field yet to a course in the Brandon Park sector of the forest that was deemed fast, bumpy and without let-up. However, towards the end the surface was loosening 'like riding through freshly made compost' according to EHF's Lewis Grimes.

Melanie Paddington gave the Swaffham-based EHF team a win in the Sport Female category. Other Norfolk teams with wins included Great Yarmouth CC, whose Horsford member Sophie Wright won the Juvenile Female race by a clear lap, Thetford MTB after Anita Buxton took the Veteran Females, and Iceni Velo when Josun Cole took victory in the Under 12s.

Other winners included Paul Ashby (MT Zoom, Vets) and Imogen Buick (Newdales, Junior female).

However, the dominating ride came from Jason Boutell (Dig Deep Coaching) who rode off the front of the Expert/Elite field in convincing fashion.

Boutell now turns his attention to another discipline – he rides the national ten mile time trial championship which is to be held in Norfolk on Saturday, based at Hingham Sports and Social Club (NR9 4HB) with the first lady off at 8.31am with the men following on from 9.51am.

Time trialists this week looked to the Eastern Counties CA 50 at Newmarket.

Most Read

It was generally felt to be dreadfully windy but Bungay schoolteacher James Trenchard ignored this and carried the colours of the Godric CC, now sponsored by Becks Bikes, to third place in 1-49:08.

No less than 500 riders took part in the Boudicca Sportive, mostly riding the 100 mile route which took riders through wonderfully quiet lanes from Snetterton to Thornham on the North Norfolk coast and back – where that north wind provided some very welcome help on the return leg.

Andy Hastings, winner at Wicklewood last week, repeated his win in the Regional Road Race Championship near Maldon in Essex. The Finchley RT rider again rode off the front of a disintegrating break to take a solo win.

The crucial break of 15 went early and included Strada Sport's Essex member Tim Butt (eventually 10th) and former UEA man Chris Bartlett (14th). Norwich rider Mike Auger, now with Iceni Velo, was in a chasing group and rolled in 16th.

With no separate women's race in the East, VC Norwich's Erica Howe, Louise Marsden, and Beth Coley rode the SE race in Surrey where Howe (36th) was highest placed.

• Tony Thornley, who died earlier this month at the age of 82, was captain (that is to say club run leader) of the East Anglian Cycling Club during the club's prosperous years in the 1960's and 70s.

His cycling life began in the Norwich YHA Group and in the 1970s there was a time-trialling career – including membership of the winning team in the regional BAR.

But it is as captain of the EAs and later club secretary – 25 years in each job – that Tony is best remembered.

At his funeral in Norwich the days were recalled when Tony, still only in his thirties, was the 'Old Man' of the East Anglian CC's 90-100 mile club runs, when most members were in their teens and twenties. He was also an enthusiastic continental tourist, an official timekeeper, organiser of events and finally recipient of a well-earned EACC Life Membership award.

• Simon Millard (Iceni Velo) was the winner of the 55 rider senior race in the Lotus Cycle Race Series.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter