New-look NACO Cup gets under way

The new-look NACO Cup gets under way tomorrow with seven first round ties pitting the top Norfolk Alliance sides against each other.

The NDI Insurance-sponsored competition has been relaunched in a new format, with East Anglian Premier League clubs and overseas players excluded.

There is bound to be a new name on the trophy, since any side playing in the EAPL in the past three years is also barred entry – ruling out inaugural winners Norwich, as well as 2010 and 2011 winners Vauxhall Mallards.

In the first round, early Alliance Premier Division leaders Old Buckenham visit newly-promoted Acle, while Dereham and Downham have a swift rematch after their Carter Cup meeting last Sunday.

In the other ties, Diss entertain Stow, Ashmanhaugh & Barton Wanderers are at home to Saham Toney, Sprowston visit Brooke, North Runcton play host to Cromer, and Beccles are at home to Lowestoft. Saxlingham have a first round bye.

You may also want to watch:

There is one NACO Shield first round match with Garboldisham at home to Bungay.

The two competitions are in a 50-over format, with play starting at noon. They filled the void left by the Stan Biss Trophy, which finished in 2008.

Most Read

Higher up the ladder, the county's four EAPL sides are in action in the ECB National Club Championship tomorrow, with Great Witchingham at home to Horsford in Group 13 and Vauxhall Mallards entertaining Swardeston. The games start at 1pm.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus