New backroom team at Fakenham Town - but still no manager

Posing for a picture at the start of a new era for Fakenham Town are, from left to right, Doug Colma

Posing for a picture at the start of a new era for Fakenham Town are, from left to right, Doug Colman, Nolan Keeley, club president Bill Clayton and Simon Barnes. Picture: Tony Miles - Credit: Archant

Fakenham Town have unveiled a new backroom team to take the club forward - but there is still no sign of a permanent boss being brought in.

A range of appointments were announced after Wednesday evening's extraordinary general meeting at Clipbush Park, with Simon Barnes taking over as chairman and Nolan Keeley taking on the new role director of football.

But over six weeks after the departure of Robbie Harris the Thurlow Nunn League Premier Division team is still being managed on a caretaker basis by youth coach Alex Walpole.

The 24-year-old volunteered his services last month when a home fixture against Great Yarmouth was called off at short notice after a player revolt prompted by behind-the-scenes issues at the club.

With that situation having now been clarified supporters will be hoping to see a new manager installed as a matter of urgency, with the club still languishing near the foot of the table despite a couple of wins under the caretaker.

You may also want to watch:

New chairman Barnes issued a rallying cry after the meeting, saying: 'We are all in this together, all our senior and junior teams plus our committee members and volunteers, and we want to put the feel-good factor into Fakenham.

'We have a youth set-up at Fakenham that is second to none in the county. We must now put in place a system that will allow our youngsters to progress into the under-18s, reserves and first team and this is something that Nolan Keeley will oversee.

Most Read

'We cannot compete with most clubs in the county financially but we can work together to make Clipbush Park a place where young and senior players want to come and play their football, as they know that we appreciate them.

'We had a very successful committee meeting after the EGM and there is a buzz around the place again and long may that continue.'

In other appointments Alex Fearn was elected vice-chairman and Ivor Darby secretary while Douglas Colman has taken on the role of chief executive.

Reserve team management duo Trevor Daniels and Dean Betts have left their roles, with Craig Rutland being named as new boss.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus