King’s Lynn Stars looking to squeeze into play-offs with ‘maximum’ victory over Swindon Robins

King's Lynn Stars can move into a prized play-off place this evening if they beat Swindon Robins by more than seven points at the Norfolk Arena.

The Stars will climb into the top four of the Elite League for the first time this season if they claim maximum league points in their home match with second-place Swindon.

Lynn drew 45-45 against the Robins in front of the Sky Sports camera last month and Stars co-promoter Jonathan Chapman is hoping his side can go one better tonight.

He said: 'We'll be looking for revenge, that's for sure. We should have beaten them at home the last time they came here and were so close to doing the job.

'I'm sure the boys will be fired up to make sure they do it this time. It's so important to us. Perhaps getting into the top four is going to come sooner than we anticipated and I'm sure it will be a boost to everyone once we get there.'

Lakeside currently occupy fourth on 38 points, with Peterborough sitting fifth on 36 and the Stars one back on 35.

Seven points from a possible 11 last week boosted Lynn's play-off hopes according to Chapman, even though the Norfolk Arena outfit returned from Peterborough with no points on Thursday.

Most Read

The Stars co-promoter said: 'The result didn't go our way against the Panthers but those that followed did.

'They gained ground by beating us but then lost it by drawing at home to Coventry on Monday. If they would have won they would have made it hard for us but they didn't.

'They did really well against us and then flopped against Coventry so it has sort of evened itself out.'

The Stars will be at full strength for this evening's meeting after number one Niels-Kristian Iversen made a successful return from injury last week.

The Robins, who can go back to the top of the table with a victory at Saddlebow Road, are also in fine shape with Lasse Bjerre making another return to his former club.

King's Lynn: 1 Niels-Kristian Iversen, 2 Ulrich Ostergaard, 3 Maciej Janowski, 4 Mads Korneliussen, 5 Daniel Nermark, 6 Kevin Wolbert, 7 Mateusz Szczepaniak.

Swindon: 1 Hans Anderson, 2 Simon Stead, 3 Peter Kildemand, 4 Jason Doyle, 5 Troy Batchelor, 6 Lasse Bjerre, 7 Dawid Lampart

Gates open 6pm, parade 7.30pm, tapes 7.45pm.