Humphrey takes Trophy tally to 18

Sixty-One years ago ERA R11B, affectionately known as Humphrey, claimed victory in the first ever event held at the Snetterton Heath circuit and made a winning return last Sunday in the hands of David Morris.

Morris was aiming to collect the Historic Seaman trophy for the eighth time and the car's 18th and he duly delivered, chasing home the top three cars, simultaneously contesting the Flockhart Trophy, which was easily won by Philip Walker's Lotus 16.

Later in the day Walker would triumph once more in front of a large and appreciative crowd when he used the better handling Lotus 15 to out-smarted the potent Canadian built Sadler of Julian Majzub.

A fascinating battle raged in the Vintage Seaman Trophy race behind winner Robin Tuluie with Sue Darbyshire battling against the Bugatti T35B of Chris Hudson for many lays until the engine in her three-wheel Morgan went sick.

Nigel Ashman only just held off Simon Front and Simon Brown in the 500 race, reminiscent of the battles Downham Market's Jim Russell used to have in the late 50s.

Less than a second separated the Riley of David Pryke and the big Bentley of Ewan Gentley in the Donington Mug encounter after Pryke was third to Andrew Mitchell and Alastair Pugh in the Pre-War Handicap event.

In Saturday's Aston Martin three hour race Pierre Mantello/Olivier Bouche took a narrow 37 second victory for the locally based Stratton Motorsport team after competing 246 miles.

Most Read

North Walsham's James Paterson led for much of the 50s Sports Car event but was demoted by the canny Peter Rutt who followed the local racer to quickly learn the lines around the new 300 layout before edging past.

East Coast racer John Burton was a class winning fourth in his Jaguar XK 120 and followed it up with ninth on Sunday as Paterson retired his Lotus XI after the opening lap.

VSCC Results.Redgate Mug: 1 M Grist (Alfa Romeo P3 Tipo B); 2 W Mahany (HRG Le Mans Model); 3 J Guyatt (Montlhery Largo T150C). Historic Seaman & Flockhart Trophies: 1 P Walker (Lotus 16); 2 M Steele (Connaught C Type); 3 F Harper (Kurtis Indy-Roadster). Handicap Race for Pre-War Cars: 1 A Mitchell (HRG 1� Litre); 2 A Pugh (Frazer Nash/BMW 328); 3 D Pryke (Riley 12/4 TT Sprite Replica). F3 (500) Racing Cars: 1 N Ashman (Cooper Mk XI); 2 S Frost (Martin S/S Racing); 3 S Brown (Cooper Mk4). Spero & Voiturette Trophiese: 1 W Mahany (HRG Le Mans Model); 2 C Pedersen (Austin 7 Special); 3 M Johnston (Austin/MG LA Special). Vintage Seaman Trophy: 1 R Tuluie (Riley Menasco Pirate); 2 C Hudson (Bugatti T35B); 3 S Darbyshire (Morgan Super Aero). Scratch Race for Pre-War Cars: 1 J Grimwade (Amilcar Rapier); 2 T Seber (Wolseley Hornet Special); 3 A Kellock (Fiat AC). Hawthorn International Trophy: 1 P Walker (Lotus 15 Sports Racing); 2 J Majzub (Sadler Mk111); 3 T Bianchi (Farrellac Allard Sports). Scratch Race for Pre-War Cars: 1 R Cobden (Riley Falcon Special); 2 P Candy (Riley Super Rat); 3 Eddie Gibbs (F Nash SS). Handicap Race for Pre-War Cars: 1 T Stephens (Vauxhall A/D Type); 2 O Richardson (MG Monthlery); 3 F Boothby (MG J2). Donington Mug Race: 1 D Pryke (Riley 12/4 TT Sprite); 2 E Gentley (Bentley 3/4 � Litre); 3 T Kneller (Riley 12/4 Special).

AMOC Results. Aston Martin GT4 Challenge: 1 P Mantello/O Bouche; 2 C Kemp/S Hall; 3 M Brown/P Cripps/D West. 50s Sports Cars: 1 Peter Rutt (Lola Mk1); 2 J Paterson (Lotus XI); 3 S Hart (Maserati 300S). Intermarque Championship: 1 W Smallbridge (Sunbeam Tiger); 2 B Thurtle/A Thurtle (Chevrolet Camaro); 3 J Shoesmith/R Barrow (Chevrolet Camaro). Equipe GTS: 1 J Andon (Triumph TR4); 2 Pete Foster (Triumph TR4); 3 C Elstrop (TVR Grantura). Pre-War Sports Cars: 1 K Piper (Aston International); 2 P Dubsky (Aston Martin 15/98); 3 J Varley (Aston Martin Speed).