Ford Focus pair in Snetterton Stages victory

With four fastest stages times Nigel Mummery and Fiona Scarrett secured a 27-second victory in the second running of the Snetterton Stages.

The Ford Focus crew outpaced the two ageing, but indecently rapid, Escort Mk11s of Peter Rayner and David Tinn, who between them posted one and three fastest times respectively in the remaining four sections.

However, Rayner was just able to holding off the flying Tinn over the final two stages, despite dropping four seconds, to take the runners-up place by a two-second margin.

The local crews were out of luck, with Larling's Denis Marshall trailing home nearly 10 minutes behind the leading time on the opening section before posting the third best time on SS3.

King's Lynn and District Motor Club members Steve and Jack Tilburn finished in a solid fourth, while Harleston's Clare Rix broke her Ford Ka's gearbox on SS4.

You may also want to watch:

Results: 1 Nigel Mummery/Fiona Scarrett (Ford Focus WRC), 2 Peter Rayner/Richard Bonner (Ford Escort Mk11), 3 David Tinn/Stephen de Vere (Ford Escort Mk11), 4 Steve Tilburn/Jack Tilburn (Ford Escort), 5 Justin Oliver/Claire Abrey (Subaru Impreza), 6 John Legg/Lewis Davies (Ford Escort), 7 Scott Rayner/Bruce Vincent (Ford Escort Mk11), 8 Matt Ockendon/Louise Earthy (Peugeot 205), 9 Ian Gibson/Andrew Gibson (Honda Civic Type R), 10 Russ Radford/Graeme Bell (Ford Escort Mk11).

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter