Challis grabs second spot after setback

Peter Challis had to overcome a broken driveshaft before racing to a podium position in the second Euro Saloon and Sportscar Championship race at Snetterton on Sunday.

The Feltwell racer often endures misfortune at his home circuit and the Arrowpak Super Touring Nissan Primera broke after just two qualifying laps leaving him in 12th on the grid. His crew and repaired the car in time for the opening race and Challis rewarded their hard work by narrowly missing out on fourth place as Kevin Wendt defended his position with gusto.

Starting fifth in race two, Challis quickly scythed past those immediately ahead and when Ian Richard Fearns missed a vital gear change he pounced to grab second place, but double winner Nick Williams proved to be too far ahead.

Local racers also performed well in the VW GTi races with Chris Hart finishing in fourth and fifth places while Peter Haynes retired from race one but finished second in class in the following encounter.

A demon last lap by Luke Schlewitz secured him the GTi victory from Simon Hill who made sure his rival didn't repeat the feat in race two.

The Eugene O'Brien led Spirit Racing squad snatched a late victory in the four hour Fun Cup race while Andrew Todd won the poorly supported Crossle 9S Challenge race by holding off Mark Hobbs, whose engine blew up at the final corner.

David Clark and Richard Sykes shared the spoils in the Porsche Challenge races. Sykes made up for a poor start in race one, although he was unable to dislodge Clark, but made no such error later on.

Most Read

Tony Sinclair strolled to a double in the Open Sportscar Series, chased in race one by Doug Hart and in the second by Andrew Kimpton, while victories in the four Saker Sportscar races were split evenly between Paul Rose and Steve Harris.

Euro Saloon & Sportscar Championship Race One: Nick Williamson (Ford Escort Cosworth); Ian Richard Fearns (Ginetta G50); Mark Poole (BMW M3). Race Two: Nick Williamson; Peter Challis (Nissan Primera ST); Ian Richard Fearns.

VW GTi Series Race One: Luke Schlewitz; Simon Hill; Andy Knowlton. Race Two: Simon Hill; Luke Schlewitz; Andy Knowlton.

Fun Cup Championship: Spirit Racing (Mark Burton, Eugene O'Brien, Jason Simon); Eco Racing (Paul Abraham, Tom Mills); Scarab Indigo Racing (Abraham de Groot, Stephen Johansen).

Crossle 9S Challenge: Andrew Todd; Mark Hobbs; Dominic Spicer, Paul Summerville.

Porsche Championship Race One: David Clark (Boxster); Richard Sykes (Boxster); Richard Styrin (Boxster). Race Two: Richard Sykes; David Clark; Richard Styrin.

Open Sportscar Series Race One: Tony Sinclair (Jade 3); Doug Hart (Hart-Chiron 1138); Darcy Smith (Nemesis RME98). Race Two: Tony Sinclair; Andrew Kimpton (Jade 3); Jonathan Hair (Mallock Beagle Mk3 6DD).

Saker Challenge Race One: Steve Harris; Paul Rose; Tim Wheeldon. Race Two: Paul Rose; Steve Harris; Tim Wheeldon. Race Three: Steve Harris; Tim Wheeldon; Mark Burton. Race Four: Paul Rose; Steve Harris; Tim Wheeldon.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter