Calm Oulton Broad brings best out of Madin

The Squib fleet, with spinnakers hanging limply, at the start of the first run at Oulton Broad.

The Squib fleet, with spinnakers hanging limply, at the start of the first run at Oulton Broad. - Credit: Archant

The wind on Oulton Broad seems to change from too much one week to not enough the next.

Last Sunday was one of the calmer ones and most races had to be shortened as the fleets struggled to find enough wind to get them round the course.

In the Fast Handicap race as usual the leaders were the RS400 of Richard Fryer and the RS200 sailed by Duncan Madin. This time it was Madin who finished first on the water and he was far enough in front to comfortably save his time on Ben Falat's Phantom which took second with Veronica Falat, sailing her Streaker, moving up to third.

Bryan Riley and Jim Tubby both made starts which were poor by their own standards in the Squib class and while most of the fleet tacked into South Bay they cleared their wind by tacking behind the fleet to the north shore. When the two sides met Riley had picked up several places.

On the following run the leaders again split sides and Riley again got it right as he quietly slipped into a lead which he steadily increased and held to the end. Behind him Tubby and David Gooch held on and on the second round Tubby had moved up to second and Gooch third and these three pulled well away from the rest – in fact there was a five-minute gap between third and fourth and 15 between first and last.

The same two juniors were out in the Slow Handicap races and the result was the same in both. Bethany Hood sailed her Tera into first place in both and although Jo's Topper is supposed to be the faster he had to settle for second.

The second Fast Handicap race followed the same pattern as the first, the main difference being that the RS400s retired, leaving Duncan Madin to win and Veronica Falat improved on her first race position beating husband Ben for second place.

Most Read

The four Lasers had a fairly processional race as Alan Cone added another first place in the series with Andy Bedwell second and Simon Marfleet third.

Bryan Riley again won the Squib race.