Anglian Combination: Win at Blofield seals perfect season for all-conquering Acle

Anglian Combination Blofield v Acle. Acle score their equaliser. Picture by SIMON FINLAY.

Anglian Combination Blofield v Acle. Acle score their equaliser. Picture by SIMON FINLAY. - Credit: Archant Norfolk

Acle United completed their hat-trick of Sterry Cup triumphs in style, with a 6-1 win at nearest rivals Blofield United.

Ian Morgan led the way for Acle with a hat-trick, with James Foreman, Tim Henery and Aaron Sanders also on the scoresheet. Tom Cullumbine replied for Blofield.

The only other club to have won three Premier Division titles in a row was Wroxham in the 1980s.

Fionn Goodwin-Wright and Elliot Lythgoe scored for Harleston Town as they beat Norwich CEYMS 2-1, to finish third. Lewis Smith scored for CEYMS. A Reece Logan goal was not enough as Long Stratton lost 2-1 to Dersingham Rovers, who were indebted to Jack Webber and an own goal. Kane Taylor, Sam Gauntlett and Jamie North scored for Spixworth to earn a 3-2 win over Caister, whose goals came from Nicholas Crawley.

Goals from Haydn Davis and James Smith gave St Andrews a 2-1 win at Wroxham Reserves, whose scorer was Jordan Attree.

In Division One, goals from Benjamin Norton-Hugman (2), Edward Cussons and Thomas Green gave Scole a 4-2 win at Aylsham, for whom Tom Bush and James Oliver scored. Scole play Beccles then leaders Mulbarton Wanderers in their final two matches to decide the title.

A hat-trick from Ben Darby and one from Andy Lees gave Foulsham a 4-2 win over Bradenham Wanderers, with Tom Spalding and Karl Bush getting the other goals. North Walsham beat Stalham Town 1-0.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter