Andrew Marshall pips fellow Norfolk player Luke Johnson in TP Tour play-off

Trophy winners at the Norfolk Senior Ladies' Championship, from left to right, Nickie Clarke, Jo Ash

Trophy winners at the Norfolk Senior Ladies' Championship, from left to right, Nickie Clarke, Jo Ashmore and Dawn Futter. Pictures: Norfolk LCGA - Credit: Archant

Andrew Marshall withstood a strong challenge from fellow Norfolk player Luke Johnson to win the TP Tour event at The Belfry.

The pair led the way at the iconic Brabazon Course, with one under par rounds of 71 leaving them a shot clear of the field.

Marshall then went on to claim the £2,000 winners' cheque in a play-off, with Johnson having to settle for the runners-up prize of £750.

Marshall, who represents Bawburgh Golf Club, had reeled off three birdies in five holes on his back nine, while King's Lynn's Johnson was left to rue a bogey on the 16th.

Marshall had warmed up for his Belfry challenge by finishing eighth at another one-day TP Tour event at St Ives in Cambridgeshire, when he also went round in 71.

You may also want to watch:

The man from Dereham has shone on a number of different tours this season while Johnson generally focuses on the third tier Europro Tour.

Meanwhile Norfolk Ladies County President Jo Ashmore claimed her fourth successive County Senior Championship title.

Most Read

The Barnham Broom player recorded a round of 75 to finish four shots ahead of her closest challenger at Great Yarmouth and Caister.

Sharon Black from Dunston Hall was second with a gross 79 in an event that attracted a field of 39. The Handicap winner and runner-up were both from the home club - Dawn Futter and Glenda Winn with a nett 69 and 71 respectively.

The winner of the Judith Mackinnon Trophy was Royal Norwich's Nickie Clarke.

Futter also flew the Norfolk flag at the East Region Seniors Championships at The Bedford. Her score of 89 (78 nett) left her 11th in the scratch competition and 18th in the handicap section.

Felixstowe Ferry's Jude Harmer won with an 80 (nett 67).

The East of England Senior Men's Championship at Hunstanton was won by Hamp-shire's Alan Mews (70, 76).

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus