Acle lead way in City Tennis League parade of champions

The City Tennis League held its AGM and awards evening at Easton College and celebrated a successful 2011 season with 64 teams competing across six Men's and four Ladies' divisions.

Acle A were the champions of Men's Division One for the third year on the bounce and East Anglia A took home the Ladies' title.

John Edwards, who is retiring from the committee after 20 years of service, was thanked for his outstanding support, which included the development of the league's website and general administration. John was presented with an engraved glass by chairman Bob King.

Acle A were champions for the third year running and they remained unbeaten throughout the season; winning all matches apart from two draws with runners-up Taverham A.

Acle B and Bracondale are relegated to Division Two.

Cringleford are a young side and having won Division Three last year have continued their progression by winning Division Two. They will be joined in Division One by Cromer B, who edged out Bostons A on game difference 124 to 92. Acle C and Brooke B were relegated to Division Three.

2011 was a fantastic season for North Elmham A, who won all of their Division Three matches with an outstanding game difference of 238. Blofield A were comfortable runners-up and will compete in Division Two in 2012 whilst Bostons B and Taverham C relegated.

Most Read

Division Four was closely fought, with the promotion and relegation positions decided on the last two weeks of the season. Stanmore B were champions; just pipping Heigham at the post by a solitary point.

Victory for Jarrolds in their final game of the season meant relegation for Marsh who went down with Fakenham.

In Division Five, there was very little to separate the top four teams. Acle D won the league but the final promotion and relegation positions were decided in the final round of matches. Taverham E beat Wymondham B in the last match of the season, which saw them sneak into the second promotion spot, whilst condemning Wymondham B and North Elmham B to relegation.

North Elmham C and Taverham F finished tied in Division Six on 20 points, however North Elmham's superior game difference was enough to hand them the title.

In an exciting finish top, East Anglia A claimed the Ladies Division One championship ahead of Acle A who were runners-up, with Cromer A occupying third. Wymondham A and Blofield A are relegated after difficult seasons.

Brooke A finished as champions with just one loss along the way and they will be joined in ladies Division One by Cringleford.

East Anglia B and Fakenham are relegated to Division Three.

Stanmore finished top of a well-contested Division Three. Taverham A secured the second promotion spot ahead of Acle C by just one point.

East Anglia C and Wymondham B are relegated.

Taverham B had a fantastic season and topped Division 4 with a 100 per cent record and a game difference of 514. Joining them in Division Three will be Cromer C who finished as runners-up.