Veteran Tory councillor is deselected from his Great Yarmouth seat

Cllr George Jermany pictured when he was Yarmouth mayor in 2006.

Cllr George Jermany pictured when he was Yarmouth mayor in 2006. - Credit: Archant © 2006

A former mayor of Great Yarmouth and veteran Conservative councillor has been deselected from his seat.

Cllr George Jermany, who represents the East Flegg ward, and who has never been defeated in an election, said he thinks he is now unlikely to stand again for the borough council.

He said: 'I would have stood again but there is personal animosity between me and certain members of the selection committee.'

Deputy chairman of the Conservative Association, Graham Plant, said: 'It is a private matter for the association and the five people on the committee. It is a majority that votes for candidates.'

Cllr Jermany was Mayor in 2006 which he said he was very proud of, especially to give the Freedom of the Borough to Hemsby Lifeboat and to David Thompson, a former veteran borough councillor.

You may also want to watch:

Cllr Jermany is the current chairman of the licensing committee, and deputy chairman of the planning committee.

He said: 'They are the two areas that directly affect the people of Yarmouth. I was involved in bringing B&Q to Yarmouth and have been involved with planning ever since joining the council.'

Most Read

Cllr Jermany started out as a parish councillor.

'I used to go to meetings and whinge. They then said to me 'do something about it'. So I stood. I really do think that one particular councillor can't move the earth, but what they can do is work away and get things done for Yarmouth.

'I have tried to get involved behind the scenes. Lots of people know me and know what I do.'

He added: 'Too many people knock Yarmouth,' and said he would always stand up for the town.

Former councillor Jim Shrimplin was also deselected by the Tories in 2014, after having served for 36 years.

At the time, Mr Shrimplin, who represented the Ormesby ward, which borders Cllr Jermany's ward, said that he had been treated with a 'total lack of loyalty' by the town's Conservative Association.

Thirteen ward seats are going to the polls on May 5, at present eight are held by Labour, four by the Conservatives and one independent.

There are a total of 39 seats on the borough council with a third going to election every year. Currently the Tories and Labour are neck and neck with 14 seats each, UKIP have eight and there are three independents.

The Tories hold the leadership of the council, through Graham Plant, with support from UKIP.

Councillors Jamie Smith, Tony Blyth, George Jermany, Bert Collins, Penny Linden and Colin Fox are not seeking re-election.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter