New councillor for Feltwell

Voters in Feltwell elected Elaine Mills onto the parish council, following a by-election held last night (Thursday).

Some 189 votes were cast out of a 1,646 strong electorate, meaning there was an 11.48pc turnout.

Elaine Mills was elected with 101 votes while the only other person standing, Terry Shapland, received 87 votes.

The vacancy was created after former council chairman, Paul Garland, stepped down.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter