New appointments on Breckland Council cabinet after three resign

Leader of Breckland Council William Nunn. Picture: Ian Burt

Leader of Breckland Council William Nunn. Picture: Ian Burt - Credit: IAN BURT

Two new appointments have been made at Breckland Council's cabinet after three councillors stepped down from their roles.

Vacancies were left after Ellen Jolly, Peter Wilkinson and Marion Chapman-Allen, whose son Sam is now Breckland's deputy leader, resigned from their roles.

Philip Cowen and Mark Robinson have been appointed as executive member for income and prosperity and executive member for governance respectively.

Mr Cowen will be stepping down from his current role as chair of the council's overview and scrutiny committee.

William Nunn, Breckland Council leader, said: 'I'm putting together a team who I believe will take Breckland forward and who I will be able to work with closely.'

Mr Robinson said: 'I'm honoured and humbled by the appointment. It is good for Thetford that we have a voice in the cabinet.'

Mr Nunn added that Ms Jolly and Ms Chapman-Allen had resigned their cabinet positions due to family reasons.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter