Who is standing in the Norwich City Council elections?

Photo: Nick Butcher.

Photo: Nick Butcher. - Credit: EDP pics © 2007

The candidates standing in Norwich City Council's elections next month have been confirmed, with the UK Independence Party not fielding any contenders at all.

Norwich will go to the polls on May 3. Photo : Steve Adams

Norwich will go to the polls on May 3. Photo : Steve Adams - Credit: Steve Adams

Norwich will go to the polls on Thursday, May 3, with a 13 of 39 seats - a third of the council - up for election.

The Conservatives, Greens, Labour and the Liberal Democrats have a full slate of candidates for all 13 divisions, but UKIP are fielding no candidates.

However, Eric Masters, former chairman of the UKIP Norwich South constituency, is on the ballot paper. He has switched to the Conservatives and is standing in Lakenham.

Six serving Norwich city councillors are not seeking re-election. Among those bidding goodbye to City Hall is Labour's Bert Bremner, whose first stint as a city councillor was from 1978 to 1983.

Election count in St Andrews Hall, Norwich. Photo: Steve Adams

Election count in St Andrews Hall, Norwich. Photo: Steve Adams

You may also want to watch:

Green Sandra Bogelein, who currently represents Wensum ward, is standing in Mancroft this time around.

Liberal Democrat leader James Wright is looking to retain his Eaton seat, while two members of Labour's cabinet - Mike Stonard (cabinet member for sustainable and inclusive growth) and Matthew Packer (cabinet member for health and wellbeing) aim to hold on to Catton Grove and Sewell, respectively.

Most Read

A number of former councillors are looking to make a return. Former Green group leader Claire Stephenson is standing in University ward and fellow Green Paul Neale, who used to represent Town Close is trying to win in Nelson ward.

Liberal Democrat David Fairbairn, who used to represent Lakenham, is among those challenging Mr Neale, while party colleague Gordon Dean, a former county councillor, is standing in Thorpe Hamlet.

Former Conservative group leader Andrew Wiltshire is standing in Bowthorpe, while John Fisher, already a county and Broadland councillor is looking to make it a hat-trick in Mile Cross.

Mile Cross is where the only independent, former Green county councillor Richard Edwards, is standing.

While the city will go to the polls on May 3, the count is taking place the next day.

Norwich City Council is currently under the control of Labour. They have 26 seats, the Green Party 10 and the Liberal Democrats three.

These are the candidates:

BOWTHORPE: Jean Bishop (G); Oliver Healey (LD); Sue Sands (L); Andrew Wiltshire (C)

CATTON GROVE: Henry Newton (C); Tony Park (G); Mike Stonard (L); Leigh Tooke (LD)

CROME: Judith Ford (G); Tom Sherman (C); Marion Maxwell (L); Samuel Neal (LD)

EATON: Samantha England (C); Ben Hardie (L); Jane Saunders (G); James Wright (LD)

LAKENHAM: Emily Cutler (LD); Eric Masters (C); Peter Offord (G); Rachel Trevor (L)

MANCROFT: Sandra Bogelein (G); Iain Gwynn (C); Jo Smith (L); Sarah Tustin (LD)

MILE CROSS: Richard Edwards (I); John Fisher (C); Adrian Holmes (G); Jacob Huntley (L); Chris Thomas (LD)

NELSON: Reece Durrant (C); David Fairbairn (LD); Emma Hampton (L); Paul Neale (G)

SEWELL: Neil Hardman (LD); Tessa Jackson (C); Cami Ouzerdine (G); Matthew Packer (L)

THORPE HAMLET: Gordon Dean (LD); Lesley Grahame (G); Alex Jackson-Dennis (C); Cavan Stewart (L)

TOWN CLOSE: Nick Caistor (G); Mary Chacksfield (C); Silvia Schmidtova (LD); Ian Stutely (L)

UNIVERSITY: Syed Ahmod (C); Connor Bell (LD); Matthew Fulton-McAlister (L); Claire Stephenson (G)

WENSUM: Erin Fulton-McAlister (L); Thomas Holloway (G); Thomas Sheppard (C); David Thomas (LD)

Key: C-Conservative; G-Green Party; I-Independent L-Labour; LD-Liberal Democrat

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter