How did your Norfolk county councillor vote in the allowances debate?

The leaders of the political groups at Norfolk County Council. Cliff Jordan (Conservatives and counc

The leaders of the political groups at Norfolk County Council. Cliff Jordan (Conservatives and council leader), Dan Roper (Liberal Democrats) and Steve Morphew (Labout). Photo: Norfolk Conservatives/submitted/Denise Bradley - Credit: Norfolk Conservatives/submitted/

Norfolk county councillors have voted to stick with a controversial move to increase their allowances by 10.5pc - but how did your councillor vote?

Before Christmas, Norfolk county councillors voted, by 39 votes to 26 with two abstentions, to increase their basic allowance from £9,401 to £10,500 a year.

But Labour and the Liberal Democrats triggered today's extraordinary meeting with a motion that the Conservative-led council should reverse the decision.

However, the council voted, by 36 votes to 28, to reject the motion and stick with the increase.

Cliff Jordan, Conservative leader of the council, said councillors needed to be remunerated properly and that there was never a right time to increase it.

You may also want to watch:

But Labour group leader Steve Morphew said it was the wrong decision and it would now be 'an albatross around the necks' of councillors.

And Lib Dem leader Dan Roper blasted the decision as 'self-serving' and a bad message to be sending when cuts are being consulted.

Most Read

These are the 36 who voted against the Labour/Liberal Democrat motion, so effectively voted to stick with the allowances increase: Stephen Askew (C - Guiltcross)

David Bills (C - Humbleyard)

Bill Borrett (C - Elmham and Mattishall)

Roy Brame (C - Thetford East)

Stuart Dark (C - Dersingham)

Margaret Dewsbury (C - Hingham)

Phillip Duigan (C - Dereham South)

Simon Eyre (C - Freebridge Lynn)

John Fisher (C - Woodside)

Tom FitzPatrick (C - Fakenham)

Colin Foulger (C - Forehoe)

Tom Garrod (C - Wroxham)

Shelagh Gurney (C - Hellesdon)

Ron Hanton (C - East Flegg)

Michael Chenery of Horsbrugh (C - Docking)

Harry Humphrey (C - Marshland South)

Brian Iles (C - Acle)

Andrew Jamieson (C - North Coast)

Cliff Jordan (C - Yare and All Saints)

Keith Kiddie (C - Diss and Roydon)

Brian Long (C - Fincham)

Ian Mackie (C - Thorpe St Andrew)

Graham Middleton (C - Gayton and Nar Valley)

Judy Oliver (C - Sheringham)

Rhodri Oliver (C - Attleborough)

Richard Price (C - Smallburgh)

Thomas Smith (C - Gaywood South)

Sandra Squire (I - Marshland North)

Barry Stone (C - Loddon)

Margaret Stone (C - Clavering)

Haydn Thirtle (C - West Flegg)

Alison Thomas (C - Long Stratton)

Victor Thomseon (C - Henstead)

John Ward (C - Sprowston)

Martin Wilby (C - East Depwade)

Sheila Young (C - Gaywood North and Central)

These are the 28 who voted for the Labour/Lib Dem motion - to reject the allowance increase

Tim Adams (LD - Cromer)

Steffan Aquarone (LD - Melton Constable)

Jess Barnard (L - Nelson)

Julie Brociek-Coulton (L - Sewell)

Sarah Butikoffer (LD - Holt)

Kim Clipsham (L - Wensum)

David Collis (L - King's Lynn North and Central)

Emma Corlett (L - Town Close)

Danny Douglas (L - Mancroft)

Tim East (LD - Costessey)

David Harrison (LD - Aylsham)

Terry Jermy (L - Thetford West)

Brenda Jones (L - Lakenham)

Chris Jones (L - Thorpe Hamlet)

Alexandra Kemp (I - Clenchwarton and King's Lynn South)

Edward Maxfield (LD - Mundesley)

Steve Morphew (L - Catton Grove)

George Nobbs (L - Crome)

Dan Roper (LD - Hevingham and Spixworth)

David Rowntree (L - University)

Chrissie Rumsby (L - Mile Cross)

Mike Sands (L - Bowthorpe)

Eric Seward (LD - North Walsham East)

Mike Smith-Clare (L - Yarmouth Nelson and Southtown)

Marie Strong (LD - Wells)

John Timewell (LD - North Walsham and Erpingham)

Colleen Walker (L - Magdalen)

Brian Watkins (LD - Eaton)

And here are the 20 who were absent

Tony Adams (C - Drayton and Horsford)

Claire Bowes (C - Watton)

Penny Carpenter (C - Caister-on-Sea)

Mick Castle (I - Yarmouth North and Central)

Stuart Clancy (C - Taverham)

Ed Colman (C - Swaffham)

Nigel Dixon (C - Stalham)

Fabian Eagle (C - The Brecks)

Andy Grant (C - Lothingland)

Mark Kiddle-Morris (C - Necton and Launditch)

Joe Mooney (C - Wymondham)

Greg Peck (C - Reepham)

Graham Plant (C - Gorleston St Andrews)

Andrew Proctor (C - Blofield and Brundall)

William Richmond (C - Dereham North)

Carl Smith (C - Breydon)

Bev Spratt (C - West Depwade)

Martin Storey (C - Feltwell)

Karen Vincent (C - Old Catton)

Tony White (C - Downham Market)

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter