Breckland council nominations revealed

Conservatives will be looking to maintain their dominance of Breckland Council at the local elections on May 5.

The party currently has 48 of the 54 seats and is already guaranteed six councillors in the new look council.

In the All Saints, Mid Forest and Templar wards other parties are not contesting the seats so the Tories will be automatically elected.

And in the Attleborough Queens ward, where there are three seats, there will again be no contest, meaning the Conservatives have a clear run.

Among the councillors standing down are long serving members John Labouchere, Derek Mortimer, Peter Francis, Roy Kemp and husband and wife team Paul and Theresa Hewett.

Labour are fielding three candidates - Tom Goreham, Nick Terrett and Craig Warmer - who have a combined age of 59 and also Maria Almeida, who is their first candidate from the Portuguese community.

Well known former Thetford Labour councillor Thelma Paines is trying to get re-elected but this time in Swaffham.

Most Read

Jill Ball, who has been a Conservative councillor in Wissey ward for many years, is standing this time as an independent.

The current make-up of Breckland is: Conservatives 48 seats, Labour three, independents three.

List of nominations for Breckland Council: (*denotes sitting councillor in the ward):

All Saints ward (Ellinghams, Rockland, Scoulton): *Bill Smith (C) (uncontested).

Buckenham (two councillors): Timothy Bornett (Ind), Roger Fryatt (Lab), *Adrian Joel (C).

Burgh and Haverscroft (Attleborough): Julian Crutch (Lab), *Keith Martin (C), *Adrian Stasiak (C).

Conifer (Mundford and surrounding villages): Peter Knights (Ind), *Ann Steward (C).

Dereham Central (two councillors): Sinead Bowyer (Green), Antonio Choca (C), *Michael Fanthorpe (Lab), *Robin Goreham (Lab), Thomas Monument (C).

Dereham Humbletoft: David Bowyer (Green), Linda Goreham (Lab), Stuart Green (C).

Dereham Neatherd (two councillors): Michael Bennett (Lab), Ann Bowyer (Green), Bryan Darnell (Green), *Linda Monument (C), William Richmond (C), Craig Warmer (Lab).

Dereham Toftwood (two councillors): Maria Almeida (Lab), Patricia Arnold (Lab), Timothy Birt (Green), *Phillip Duigan (C), Kate Millbank (C).

East Guiltcross (Banham, Quidenham, Snetterton): *Stephen Askew (C), Ann Lambert (Lab).

Eynsford (Bawdeswell, Sparham areas): *Gordon Bambridge (C), Natasha Chamberlain (Lab). Haggard De Toni (Bradenham and Saham Toney): Charles Carter (C), Paul Thompson (UKIP).

Harling and Heathlands (two councillors): *Kay Fisher (C), Stephen Green (Lab), Ellen Jolly (C).

Hermitage (Colkirk, Weasenhams area): Trevor Carter ( C), James Leigh-Wood (UKIP), John Williams (Lab).

Launditch (Dunhams, Litcham area): Toby Coke (UKIP), Tom Goreham (Lab), *Mark Kiddle-Morris (C).

Mid Forest (Cressinghams, Oxborough, South Pickenham area): Bernard English (C) (uncontested).

Nar Valley (Narborough, South Acre area): Anna Hamilton (UKIP), *David Williams (C).

Necton: Joe Sisto (Lab), *Nigel Wilkin (C).

Queens (Attleborough) (three councillors): *Alec Byrne (C), Jenny North (C), *Simon Rogers (C) (uncontested).

Shipdham: Ivan Chubbock (Ind), Graham Hayden (Lab), Lynda Turner (C).

Springvale and Scarning (Fransham, Gressenhall, Longham, Scarning, Wendling) (two councillors): *Elizabeth Gould (C), Diana Irving (C), Jane Keidan-Cooper (Green), Lew Pearson (Lab).

Swaffham (three councillors): Charles Gunner (LD), Sandra Kerridge (Lab), *Shirley Matthews (C), Thelma Paines (Lab), *Frank Sharpe (C), *Ian Sherwood (C), Yvonne Sully (Lab).

Swanton Morley: Jane Ironside (Green), Robert Richmond (C), Trevor Wood (Ind).

Taverner (Beetley, Brisley, Mileham): *Richard Duffield (C), Nick Terrett (Lab).

Templar (Carbrooke, Caston, Griston, Ovington): *John Rogers (C).

Thetford Abbey (two councillors): Mike Brindle (LD), Brenda Canham (Lab), Carl Clark (Lab), Jeff Davey (Green), *Pauline Quadling (Ind), *Mike Spencer (C).

Thetford Castle: Roy Brame (C ), Danny Jeffrey (LD), *Terry Lamb (Ind), Julia Yelloly (Green).

Thetford Guildhall (three councillors): Ray Barker (Lab), Mariusz Gozdek (Lab), Ray Key (Lab), *Robert Kybird (C), John Rutter (LD), Margaret Rutter (LD), Bryan Skull (C), *Pam Spencer (C).

Thetford Saxon (three councillors): Sylvia Armes (Lab), *Marion Chapman-Allen (C), Denis Crawford (UKIP), Terry Jermy (Lab), Paul Kybird (C), Mark Robinson (C), Yvonne Rout (Ind), Dennis Sully (Lab), Sandra Walmsley (Green), Bob Waple (Ind).

Two Rivers (Tuddenhams, Mattishall, Hockering) (two councillors): Harry Clarke (Lab), *Paul Claussen (C), Andrew Mitchell (Green), *Brian Rose (C).

Upper Wensum: *Bill Borrett (C), John Savory (UKIP).

Upper Yare (Cranworth, Garvestone, Yaxham area): *Cliff Jordan (C), Benjamin Macann (Lab).

Watton (three councillors): *Claire Bowes (C), *Keith Gilbert (Ind), Margaret Holmes (Lab), Graham Langford (UKIP), Christopher Walls (Lab), Michael Wassell (C).

Wayland (Hockham, Wretham area): *Phil Cowen (C), Vanessa King (Green). Weeting: *Robert Childerhouse (C), David Hodgkinson (Lab), Jeffrey Prosser (Green).

West Guiltcross (Lophams, Blo Norton, Kenninghall): Steve Norton (LD), *William Nunn (C), Jim Waters (Lab). Wissey (Ashill, Holme Hale, North Pickenham): *Jill Ball (Ind), Paul Darby (C), Alison Haines (Green).