A former UKIP chief of staff is among those standing in a Norfolk by-election. 

The vote in Breckland Council's Hermitage ward will be held on May 2 following the resignation of councillor Mitchell Thurbon. 

The ward lies between Fakenham, Swaffham and Dereham, and contains the villages of Weasenham, Mileham, Tittleshall, and Colkirk.

The candidates include Robin Hunter-Clarke, who was previously chief of staff for UKIP at the Welsh Assembly and the party's co-ordinator for the Vote Leave campaign. 

Mr Hunter-Clarke stood in the Dereham Withburga ward at the 2023 elections and came in third place. He has previously made two unsuccessful bids to be elected to parliament. 

He is the Conservative Party pick in the by-election, where he will stand against two other candidates. 

Joe Sisto, a long-standing member of Necton Parish Council, is running for the Labour Party. Mr Sisto came in second place in Necton ward at the last two elections. 

Eastern Daily Press: Liberal Democrat candidate Ian MintoLiberal Democrat candidate Ian Minto (Image: Liberal Democrats)READ MORE: By-election candidates revealed following death of councillor

The third candidate is Ian Minto, who will run for the Liberal Democrats and has previously stood for a seat on Norfolk County Council. 

Liberal Democrat member Mitchell Thurbon won the rural ward in 2023 with a small majority.