Dereham Town’s squad for the 2019-20 season is taking shape

Former Harleston Town playe Jake Imrie has signed for Dereham Town Picture: SONYA DUNCAN

Former Harleston Town playe Jake Imrie has signed for Dereham Town Picture: SONYA DUNCAN - Credit: Sonya Duncan

Dereham Town's squad for another season in Division One North of the Isthmian League is rapidly taking shape.

The Magpies have snapped up defender Jake Imrie from Harleston Town and have also revealed a long list of players who have signed on for another campaign at Aldiss Park.

Imrie played for Dereham's joint bosses Adam Gusterson and Olly Willis at Harleston and has opted to try his luck at a higher level after the club's relegation back to the Anglian Combination for missing a deadline to complete ground improvements.

"We are delighted Jake has decided to step up and having worked with him for three seasons at Harleston, we feel he has the quality and mentality to improve our group," said Gusterson, whose side are now back in training in readiness for the big kick-off on August 10, when the league will have a new sponsor which is due to be announced soon.

The club have also been boosted by the return of the bulk of the players who finished last season strongly under Gusterson and Willis to claim a solid mid-table finish - after being in the relegation zone when they took over in January.

You may also want to watch:

Those who revealed they are staying put at the weekend are Dion Frary, Matty Castellan, Lewis Johnson, Adam Hipperson, Shaun Wones, Owen Murphy, David Hinton (club captain), Adam Plumstead, Danny Beaumont and Charlie Dicker. Influential winger Rhys Logan had already committed to the club the previous week by signing up for the 2019-20 campaign.

Fakenham Town have also been busy making plans for a new season in the second flight of the Thurlow Nunn League after an encouraging showing under Andy Cunningham which saw them finish in sixth position and reach the final of the League Cup before losing to Long Melford from the Premier Division.

Most Read

They have also published a list of players who have committed for another year, including first team captain Matty Franks and top scorer Callum Brain.

The 10 players to be named on the club's official Twitter feed are Harry Franks, Tom Coombe, Harry Exley, Josh Youngs, Callum Brain, Shane Akers, Alby Matthews, Fraser Field, Connor Charlesworth and Ryan Curtis.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter