Who’s on the £50,000 Man Booker Prize shortlist? Have you read them?

The six shortlisted Man Booker Prize novels for 2018. Picture: MAN BOOKER

The six shortlisted Man Booker Prize novels for 2018. Picture: MAN BOOKER - Credit: Archant

Previous winners include Hilary Mantel's Wolf Hall and Yann Martel's Life of Pi

Esi Edugyan (Washington Black). Picture: VIA MAN BOOKER PRIZE

Esi Edugyan (Washington Black). Picture: VIA MAN BOOKER PRIZE - Credit: Archant

An 11-year-old slave escaping a Barbados sugar plantation to a D-Day veteran living with post-traumatic stress disorder – just two of the stories on the £50,000 Man Booker Prize shortlist for 2018.

The six shortlisted authors, titles and publishers are:

Anna Burns, Milkman (Faber & Faber)

You may also want to watch:

Esi Edugyan, Washington Black (Serpent's Tail)

Daisy Johnson, Everything Under (Jonathan Cape)

Most Read

Rachel Kushner, The Mars Room (Jonathan Cape)

Richard Powers, The Overstory (William Heinemann)

Robin Robertson, The Long Take (Picador)

Robin Robertson (The Long Take). Picture: Niall McDiarmid

Robin Robertson (The Long Take). Picture: Niall McDiarmid - Credit: Archant

The 2018 winner will be announced on Tuesday, October 16 in London.

The Man Booker is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel written in English and published in the UK. This year is the 50th anniversary of the prize, which is akin to the literary world's Oscars here.

Shortlisted authors each receive £2,500. The winner will get a further £50,000… and can expect instant international success.

In the week after the 2017 announcement, sales of Lincoln in the Bardo, by George Saunders, rose by 1,227%. Bloomsbury has sold more than 230,000 copies of Lincoln across all formats – 70% of those sales after the win.

'What a range of subjects and styles and viewpoints on the world'

Peggy Hughes, programme director at the National Centre for Writing in Norwich, adds:

Rachel Kushner (The Mars Room). Picture: Chloe Aftel

Rachel Kushner (The Mars Room). Picture: Chloe Aftel - Credit: Archant

'It's great to see the judges taking risks and creating a few firsts: youngest ever shortlister in Daisy Johnson; first time a graphic novel made the longlist.

'As the National Centre for Writing, we're of course excited that linguistic invention and play has been given centre stage: all of these books are playing with the form and what it's capable of, from Robin Robertson's intense poetic unclassifiable noir narrative to Anna Burns' inventive, creepy novel set during the Northern Irish troubles, and Esi Edugyan's beguiling Washington Black, from the point of view of an 11-year-old slave on a 19th Century sugar plantation.

'This shortlist deftly speaks to our moment too, with Richard Powers' sweeping environmental The Overstory, and Rachel Kushner's take on gender, class and the American Dream in The Mars Room. All considered, it feels like an exciting, varied, timely list, and we can't wait to see who wins.'

Facts about the 2018 shortlisted authors

At 27, Daisy Johnson is the youngest ever to make the shortlist, beating 2013 winner Eleanor Catton to the record.

Esi Edugyan, author of Washington Black, is the only 2018 contender to have been shortlisted previously (Half-Blood Blues, 2011).

Richard Powers, longlisted in 2014 (Orfeo), was inspired to write The Overstory by an ancient tree in California's Santa Cruz mountain range.

Richard Powers (The Overstory). Picture: Joan Maloof

Richard Powers (The Overstory). Picture: Joan Maloof - Credit: Archant

Rachel Kushner spent time in US prisons to research The Mars Room, a gritty tale told from the perspective of a former lap-dancer serving two life sentences in an American women's jail.

Anna Burns' Milkman draws on the experience of Northern Ireland during the Troubles. Her first novel, No Bones, was also set in this period, and was shortlisted for the 2002 Orange Prize for Fiction (now the Women's Prize).

Robin Robertson, the author of The Long Take – the first novel in verse, with photographs, to be in contention for the prize – is also the editor of Michael Ondaatje's Warlight, which was longlisted this year.

Do you remember these previous winners or have many been forgotten?

1969: Something to Answer For, PH Newby

1970: The Elected Member, Bernice Rubens

1971: In a Free State, VS Naipaul

Daisy Johnson (Everything Under). Picture: Polly-Anna Johnson

Daisy Johnson (Everything Under). Picture: Polly-Anna Johnson - Credit: Archant

1972: G., John Berger

1973: The Siege of Krishnapur, JG Farrell

1974: The Conservationist, Nadine Gordimer; and Holiday, Stanley Middleton

1975: Heat and Dust, Ruth Prawer Jhabvala

1976: Saville, David Storey

1977: Staying On, Paul Scott

1978: The Sea, the Sea, Iris Murdoch

1979: Offshore, Penelope Fitzgerald

1980: Rites of Passage, William Golding

Anna Burns (Milkman). Picture: Eleni Stefanou

Anna Burns (Milkman). Picture: Eleni Stefanou - Credit: Archant

1981: Midnight's Children, Salman Rushdie

1982: Schindler's Ark, Thomas Keneally

1983: Life & Times of Michael K, JM Coetzee

1984: Hotel du Lac, Anita Brookner

1985: The Bone People, Keri Hulme

1986: The Old Devils, Kingsley Amis

1987: Moon Tiger, Penelope Lively

1988: Oscar and Lucinda, Peter Carey

1989: The Remains of the Day, Kazuo Ishiguro

1990: Possession, AS Byatt

1991: The Famished Road, Ben Okri

1992: The English Patient, Michael Ondaatje; and Sacred Hunger, Barry Unsworth

1993: Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha, Roddy Doyle

1994: How Late It Was, How Late, James Kelman

1995: The Ghost Road, Pat Barker

1996: Last Orders, Graham Swift

1997: The God of Small Things, Arundhati Roy

1998: Amsterdam, Ian McEwan

1999: Disgrace, JM Coetzee

2000: The Blind Assassin, Margaret Atwood

2001: True History of the Kelly Gang, Peter Carey

2002: Life of Pi, Yann Martel

2003: Vernon God Little, DBC Pierre

2004: The Line of Beauty, Alan Hollinghurst

2005: The Sea, John Banville

2006: The Inheritance of Loss, Kiran Desai

2007: The Gathering, Anne Enright

2008: The White Tiger, Aravind Adiga

2009: Wolf Hall, Hilary Mantel

2010: The Finkler Question, Howard Jacobson

2011: The Sense of an Ending, Julian Barnes

2012: Bring Up the Bodies, Hilary Mantel

2013: The Luminaries, Eleanor Catton

2014: The Narrow Road to the Deep North, Richard Flanagan

2015: A Brief History of Seven Killings, Marlon James

2016: The Sellout, Paul Beatty

2017: Lincoln in the Bardo, George Saunders

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter