Review: Jorgensen Trio at Octagon Chapel, Norwich

Event pix 8/5/14

Event pix 8/5/14 - Credit: Archant

This first recital in the Festival's popular Royal Academy of Music series was given by the Jorgensen Trio.

It takes its name from its pianist, Olga Jorgensen. The violinist is Antonia Kesel and Cecilia Bignall is the cellist.

The programme was made up of two works. The first, composed in 1985 for the centenary of Alban Berg's birth, was Alfred Schnittke's Piano Trio.

A substantial and difficult work of considerable uncompromising emotional force in its melancholy, it made its impact by consistently capturing attention with hints of falling melody only to turn brusquely into more modern styles.

Most Read

There were abrasive passages, but harshness made the gentler moments all the more touching. The four movements of Ravel's Piano Trio in A minor made rather less demand on the players and listeners, and allowed the cello's attractive tone to be heard clearly.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter