Yarmouth cricketers steal the show

Yarmouth area cricketers stole the show at the the 40th anniversary Lucas Fettes Norfolk Cricket League presentation dinner at the Mercure Hotel, Norwich.

Over 180 cricketers, partners and officials enjoyed a convivial evening hosted by the NCL executive committee and the sponsors of the league, independent financial advisers and insurance brokers Lucas Fettes & Partners.

The evening commenced with league vice-chairman Jon Cooke welcoming everybodyand thanking the sponsors, Lucas Fettes & Partners, for their continued support and involvement throughout the fourth year of their sponsorship agreement.

The East Coast managed a clean sweep of the top individual senior awards, with the President's Awards (provided and presented by NCL President Tom Bartram).

Freescoring Steven Hak of Great Yarmouth was Overall Batsman of the Year (660 runs av 55); Paul Vickers of Great Yarmouth (Overall Bowler of the Year); Simeon Randell of Martham (Overall All-Rounder of the Year) and Alex Chaney of Rollesby (Overall Wicket-Keeper of the Year).

In many respects Simeon Randell was the star of the evening, and as well as the Overall All-Rounder of the Year trophy he also received the Division Three Bowling Award and the U19 Bowler of the Year award and was a close contender for the Overall Bowler of the Year award.

The Tony Gregory Spirit of Cricket Award – presented to the team recording the highest average spirit of cricket score per game across the entire season – was awarded to Bungay A from Division Three, with Ketteringham Hall A finishing second and Lowestoft C in third.

Most Read

Cooke added: 'Old Catton will be joining the Norfolk Cricket Alliance next season having finished second in Division One this year and having satisfied the entry requirements.

'At this event last year we wished Winterton well in their first foray into the Norfolk Alliance and having seen them win Division Five at their first attempt we would like to wish Old Catton good luck as well.'

Individual honours

President's Award, Batsman of the Year: Steven Hak, Great Yarmouth (Div 1) – 660 runs @ 55.00

President's Award, Bowler of the Year: Paul Vickers, Great Yarmouth (Div 1) – 37 wickets at 12.00

President's Award, Wicket-Keeper of the Year: Alex Chaney, Rollesby (Div 1) – 17 catches and 3 stumpings, along with 376 runs @ 34.20

All-Rounder of the Year: Simeon Randell, Martham (Div 3) – 39 wickets @ 11.20 and 324 runs @ 54.00

U19 Batsman of the Year: Simon Harwood, Reepham & Salle (Div 7) – 561 runs @ 80.10

U19 Bowler of the Year: Simeon Randell, Martham (Div 3) – 39 wickets @ 11.20

Tony Gregory Spirit of Cricket Award: Bungay 'A' (Div 3)

Division 1 Batsman: Steven Hak, Great Yarmouth: 660 runs @ 55.00

Division 1 Bowler: Paul Vickers, Great Yarmouth: 37 wickets @ 12.00

Division 2 Batsman: Paul Parkin, Overstrand: 394 runs @ 39.40

Division 2 Bowler: Alok Mahotra, Norwich Bystanders: 28 wickets @ 8.60

Division 3 Batsman: Dominic Clark, Eaton: 605 runs @ 46.50

Division 3 Bowler: Simeon Randell, Martham: 39 wickets @ 11.20

Division 4 Batsman: Barry Clemitson, Old Catton 'A': 313 runs @ 31.30

Division 4 Bowler: Dale Weston, Hingham: 30 wickets @ 6.30

Division 5 Batsman: Lewis Chapman, Blundeston: 604 runs @ 46.50

Division 5 Bowler: John Neville, New Buckenham: 28 wickets @ 10.00

Division 6 Batsman: Stuart Taylor, Garboldisham 'B': 475 runs @ 67.90

Division 6 Bowler: Steve Kay, Brisley: 34 wickets @ 10.40

Division 7 Batsman: Simon Harwood, Reepham & Salle: 561 runs @ 80.10

Division 7 Bowler: Danny Tipple, Reepham & Salle: 24 wickets @ 8.60

Division 8 Batsman: Liam Smith, Gillingham: 481 runs @ 60.10

Division 8 Bowler: Matt Smith, Gillingham: 35 wickets @ 10.7

Team honours

Division 1 Champions: Rollesby

Division 1 Runners-Up: Old Catton

Division 2 Champions: Norwich Bystanders

Division 2 Runners-Up: Sprowston 'B'

Division 3 Champions: Martham

Division 3 Runners-Up: Costessey

Division 4 Champions: Hingham

Division 4 Runners-Up: Hemsby

Division 5 Champions: Hardingham 'A'

Division 5 Runners-Up: Blundeston

Division 6 Champions: Garboldisham 'B'

Division 6 Runners-Up: Great Melton 'C'

Division 7 Champions: Reepham & Salle

Division 7 Runners-Up: Bacton

Division 8 Champions: Gillingham

Division 8 Runners-Up: Blundeston 'A'

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter