Formidable pair take honours once again at Wymondham 10k

Members of the Bungay Black Dog Running Club were out in force for the Wymondham 10k on New Year's D

Members of the Bungay Black Dog Running Club were out in force for the Wymondham 10k on New Year's Day. Picture: Ken Hurst - Credit: Archant

The traditional Wymondham New Year's Day 10K was again very well attended with 635 runners completing the course.

The race always attracts a good mix of local runners and those who have come from further afield.

This year the winners came all the way from New Mexico as Ben Fletcher and girlfriend, Ruth Senior, over to visit family, took the overall honours. It is the second time they have performed this feat, following up their double success in 2013.

Fletcher came home in first place in 31:59 - a minute ahead of his nearest rival (and girlfriend's brother), James Senior of City of Norwich AC in 32:59. George Gay was third overall on 33:41.

Ruth Senior was first female in an impressive time of 38:17 with Charlotte Neal of North Norfolk Beach Runners the runner-up in 40:11. Rowenna Leary of Norfolk Gazelles was third female in 41:40.

You may also want to watch:

Matt Pyatt (Ryston Runners) was first male in the 40-44 category in a time of 34:32 with Gary Crush (City of Norwich AC) just behind in 34:50. Neil Adams of North Norfolk Beach Runners was third in 35:56.

Penny Studley (Great Yarmouth Road Runners) was first female in the 40-44 category in 44:30 with Rachel Miller (Norwich Road Runners) second in 44:31. Stacey Harper was third in the category in 44:44.

Most Read

In the men's 45-49 category Tim Topper (Wymondham AC) was first in 36:26 whilst Jonathan Cordle (Tri Anglia Triathlon Club) topped the 50-54 men's category in 39:42. John Moore (Norfolk Gazelles AC), in 55-59 category, was first in 37:38 whilst Glen Nelson (Bure Valley Harriers) led the 60-64 category in 41:58. Sam Weller, in the 65+ section, was first in 47:14.

Sabina Spence (Bure Valley Harriers) was first female in the 45-49 category in 42:25 whilst in the 50-54 bracket Sandra Roberts took the honours in 44:28. In the 55-59 section Anna Coulborn took first in 51:10 with Penny Edwards first female in 60-64 thanks to a time of 45:59. Diane Pamplin was first female in the 65+ section in 51:58.

The race is hosted by Wymondham AC, involving over 60 members volunteering their time on New Year's Day morning.

2018 is the club's 40th anniversary and the race was a special occasion for one of their founder members, Eva Osborne.

She was the oldest runner in the race, at 77, and this was her 1,000th running race in a distinguished and varied career.

She was one of the few lady runners in the first ever London Marathon in 1981, and holds many local parkrun records.

Andrew Lane, race director, said: 'We are very pleased with the turnout. I would like to thank all our Wymondham club members who helped to make it such a success.'

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus