Top two leave the rest in their wake

Big gaps opened up in the field of the Grafham Water cyclo-cross – few bigger than the one that separated leaders Hayden Wood and Tim Guy (Iceni Velo) from the rest of the seniors.

With a comfortable lead their race became a duel, which was not resolved until the last corner when unattached rider Wood slipped through a tiny space on the inside and kept his lead up the short climb to the finish.

It was a first win for the Canadian mechanical engineer who recently moved from Norwich to Cambridge.

Set against the background of the huge sail-dotted Cambridgeshire reservoir, the course included three stretches of beach, some woodland single-track and long runs on grass that lwere littered with cracks in the turf and rabbit holes.

It made it difficult to follow another rider closely and split the race up. Young Swainsthorpe rider Cameron Toms (Iceni) survived a fall to take the junior prize.

This was the first Eastern League round under the sponsorship of Elmy Cycles and they had a winner in Emma Johnson in the women's race.

Here VC Norwich rider Katie Scotter scored her highest League placing yet – fifth, an achievement duplicated by Jon Periam (CC Breckland) among the male veterans.

Most Read

The race was won by former pro Dean Barnett (Welland Valley Wheelers), while Phil Buick (Iceni Velo) took second from Bruce Robinson (Shaftesbury).

Equaling her League best, Sophie Holmes (Diss CC) worked her way up through the under-12s field to finish second behind Pierce Bacon (Ipswich BC)

Anna Buick, riding for Manchester University, beat hot favourite Ruby Miller to win the British Universities cyclo-cross championship almost under the shadow of Durham Cathedral.

North Suffolk cyclo-cross rider Hugo Robinson (XRT) won the junior race at the third round of the National Trophy in Southampton.

• A list of stars at CC Breckland's dinner at Reymerston might start with women's champion Laura Gambling, who has this year taken 12th place in the National BAR competition.

She has also set East Anglian Veterans' TTA records for age 54 with her rides of 23:46 at 10 miles, 1:12:12 at 30 miles, 2:06:40 at 50 miles and 4:28:01 at 100 miles. Chris Nudds, 62, took the men's championship with rides of 1:58:59 at 50 miles, 4:7:04 for 100 and 257.55 miles in 12 hours.

The Jubilee Trophy for service to the club went to Martin Badham, who runs CCB's website, is racing secretary and runs the club's Open 50. Peter Horsnell, Chelmer CC super-veteran, was chief guest. Other award winners included Matt Carter, Adam Cross, Declan Davis, Emily Davis, Mark Fairhead, Andrew Lincoln, Don Saunders, Roger Steggles and Danny Watkins.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter