Thetford and Costessey Park win county competitions

Thetford are NCGU Scratch Trophy winners for the second year running. Pictured after the final at Ea

Thetford are NCGU Scratch Trophy winners for the second year running. Pictured after the final at Eaton are (from left): Graham Turner (NCGU president), Steve Locke (competition organiser), Iain Yule, Giles Evans, Kevin Cooke (team captain), John Stapleton, Paul Pearce and Ian Farnham. Picture: Malcolm Grubb - Credit: Archant

Eaton was the setting for the final stages of two county competitions, with teams from Thetford and Costessey Park coming away with the silverware.

After a remarkable escape in their semi-final against Bawburgh, Thetford saw off King's Lynn to win the Scratch Knock-out event, while Costessey Park beat Heacham Manor in the handicap equivalent.

Playing the 17th in their semi-final Thetford players John Stapleton and Paul Pearce were two down and one down respectively, meaning they had to win all four holes just to gain a play-off.

Incredibly that's exactly what happened and Iain Yule then saw off Harry Brister in extra-time to seal a place in the final against King's Lynn, who beat Royal Norwich 2½-1½ in their semi-final.

The Thetford team then went on to make it back-to-back wins in the competition by winning the final 3½-1½.

In the first game Yule came up against Jason Wysoczanki, who sunk a great putt on the last to secure a half. Giles Evans' match with Lynn's Richard George also went to the last with Evans edging home by one hole.

Stapleton made his greater experience tell to beat Ashley Johnson 4&3 while Ian Farnham lost by one hole to Kevin Playford. Paul Pearce met Marc Jennings in the final game, with the former winning 3&2.

Most Read

In the Handicap competition the semi-finals between Wensum Valley and Heacham Manor and Mundesley and Costessey Park were both tight affairs.

The first finished all square after 18 holes, with Heacham winning at the first extra hole, while Costessey Park edged past Mundesley 2½-1½.

The final proved a nail-biting experience for both teams. With Costessey Park holding a 2-1 lead Heacham needed a win to take the match to extra holes but the final putt on the final green ensured a 3-1 win victory for Costessey Park who were represented in the competition by Paul Donaghy, Roy Gee, Tony D'eath, Kevin Webb, Carl Bream, Ian Rafferty, Dylan Green, Paul Hendry, Peter Sturman and Warren Blackwell.

Heacham's team members were Mike Lewarne, Tim Hoare, Ben King, Aaron Daly, Leon Espley, Nick Searle, Simon King and Craig Drewery.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter