Swardeston to begin defence of Carter Cup with home tie against Cromer

PUBLISHED: 09:02 12 December 2017

Swardeston will begin their Carter Cup defence with a home tie against Cromer next April. Picture: Nick Butcher

Swardeston will begin their Carter Cup defence with a home tie against Cromer next April. Picture: Nick Butcher

Archant © 2017

Carter Cup holders Swardeston will begin the defence of their trophy with a home tie as the county’s top knock-out competition enters a new era.

With matches now being played over 50 overs per side rather than 60 to mark the cup’s golden anniversary, Swardeston will welcome Norfolk Alliance outfit Cromer to The Common on Sunday, April 29.

Norwich, the side they beat by 10 wickets in a one-sided final back in August, have been drawn away to Fakenham of the Alliance in the first round, while fellow East Anglian Premier League outfits Horsford and Great Witchingham also have tricky looking away ties at Acle and North Runcton respectively.

The county’s other EAPL side, Vauxhall Mallards, are at home to Old Buckenham.

Competition newcomers Martham, who were promoted to Division One of the Alliance last summer, make their bow at Mattishall while Brooke, who beat them in the 2017 Lady Mary Trophy final, step back up to the top competition with a home game against Sprowston.

Full draw: Brooke v Sprowston, Vauxhall Mallards v Old Buckenham, Acle v Horsford, Mattishall v Martham, Swardeston v Cromer, Downham Town v Bradfield, Fakenham v Norwich, North Runcton v Great Witchingham.

The draw for the Lady Mary Trophy has also been made with six teams playing in a preliminary round and five going straight through to the quarter-finals.

The competition gets under way on Sunday, April 22, with the last eight games taking place on Sunday, May 13.

Preliminary round: Hethersett & Tas Valley v Dereham, Winterton v Beccles, Diss v Bircham.

Quarter-finals: Ashmanhaugh & Barton Wanderers v Denver, Thetford v Swaffham, HTV or Dereham v Diss or Bircham, Winterton or Beccles v Sheringham.

The first round losers in the Carter Cup and the quarter-final losers in the Lady Mary Trophy will play in the first round of the Carter/NACO Shield, with one bye, on June 10.

Vauxhall Mallards beat Cromer by 46 runs to win last season’s competition - but will obviously be hoping they are not involved this time around.

Most Read

Latest from the Eastern Daily Press

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists