Stars end home campaign with yet another defeat

Robert Lambert finished the meeting in style. Picture: Ian Burt

Robert Lambert finished the meeting in style. Picture: Ian Burt - Credit: Ian Burt

King's Lynn 39 Poole Priates 53

The Stars couldn't end their home Elite League programme in style, current champions Poole inflicting their sixth Adrian Flux Arena defeat of 2016 last night.

The depleted hosts faced a proverbial mountain to climb at the heat 10 interval, falling 25-37 behind as the play-off bound Pirates displayed exemplary gating.

Lynn had familiar issues with injuries and rider availability. The home side were already without No.1 Niels-Kristian Iversen due to the Swedish League play-offs, with British champion Danny King stepping in as a guest.

Their cause was further hampered by Nicklas Porsing withdrawing after three outings after the shoulder injury, which had caused him to miss Lynn's two previous away trips, flared up again.

You may also want to watch:

It meant Lynn could field only one rider in heat 12, and Poole helped themselves to a fourth 5-1 maximum race victory courtesy of Bjarne Pedersen and Kyle Newman over the struggling Carl Wilkinson.

When the visitors immediately repeated the trick as Grand Prix rider Chris Holder fired in his fourth win out of four to finish with a 12-point maximum, the contest was over.

Most Read

The Roger Warnes Transport Stars gained some crumb of comfort when they rounded off the evening with a 4-2 heat advantage and 5-1 maximum with race wins from teenager Robert Lambert and Troy Batchelor respectively. Lambert starred by thrillingly passing y guest Rohan Tungate and then Brady Kurtz before backing up his team-mate in the final nominated heat.

Former Lynn favourite Lewis Kerr lined up in the home number two spot, but suffered a scoreless night.

Lynn were 13-23 behind after six outings and tried Batchelor on a double-scoring tactical ride.

The Australian finished second in a 5-3 home result – one of just four home heat advantages all evening.

Kai Huckenbeck produced one of the races of the night by nicking heat eight on the line from Adam Ellis, after earlier overtaking Pedersen.

Lambert was named as rider of the year, entertainer and team rider of the year by the Lynn supporters. Lewis Rose, currently injured, scooped the most improved rider award.

Lynn next ride at sixth-spot Coventry, the team immediately above them, on Friday.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus