Special day celebrates historic union between Norfolk and Suffolk Federation bowlers

Norfolk and Suffolk Federation bowlers are meeting in special matches on Saturday to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the founding of the Norfolk and Suffolk Bowls Union.

It was at an historic meeting in Norwich on February 10, 1912 that, after much debate, the Norfolk and Suffolk Bowls Union was inaugurated.

Lord Hastings was elected as the first president and matches to celebrate the new Union was played in August 1912. The matches were made up of 40 singles, 20 of which were played on August 21 on Black Horse Green in Norwich with the other 20 played on August 22 on the Wherry Green, Oulton Broad. The overall result saw Norfolk win by 746 shots to Suffolk 662.

To celebrate the anniversary of this event matches will be played at Diss Bowls Club in Norfolk and Ixworth Bowls Club in Suffolk on Saturday, with both games starting at 2pm.

The teams, selected by the county presidents, are made up of Adams and Newton Trophy players and county officials. The games will be two-bowl rinks played over 25 ends.

You may also want to watch:

The Norfolk bowlers will be looking for a repeat of the victory 100 years ago while the Suffolk bowlers will be looking to extract belated revenge.

Following the game there will be a dinner at Diss Bowls Club.

Most Read

• The semi-finals of the NCBA Roving Jack competition, the County Cup, will be played on Thursday, starting at 6.30 pm. Dilham play Docking at Mill Farm BC while Gissing face last year's winners Martham at Great Plumstead BC.

• The semi-finals of the Subsidiary Cup roving jack competition resulted North Walsham New Road and Bacton advancing to the final, at Holt on Thursday, August 9 (6pm).


At Swanton Abbott, North Walsham New Road beat Great Plumstead 81-58. Rink scores (New Road first): L Clapham, N Oakley, E Clapham 27, J George, A Harper, K George 16; J Walland, B Swan, D Thompson 18, R Gowen, E Barber, J Herring 15; J Lawrence, R Lewin, R Warne 15, V Brooks, J Crosby, L Barber 12; P Gray, S Covell, C Bensley 21, N Brooks, C Jay, G Jay 15.

At Mill Farm, Bacton beat Whinburgh by 73-65. Rink scores (Bacton first): L Preston, J Saunders, A Willett 13, J Palmer, B Joyner, B Sutton 19; A Jeary, P Dunham, B Brodie 16, L Feakes, C Yorke, S Palmer 21; P Mitchell, D Sadler, R Bean 19, B Dack, M Griffin, P Webster 15; L Watts, J Ellis, N Taylor 25, R Dye, L Griffin, A Jackson 10.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter