Something old, something new on offer at Snetterton

Historic FF1600 action from Cadwell Park. Picture: Paul Lawrence

Historic FF1600 action from Cadwell Park. Picture: Paul Lawrence - Credit: Archant

Snetterton will see two different hosts this weekend, with the Historic Sports Car Club organising a 12-race programme on Saturday and the 750 Motor Club running 11 races the following day.

The single day HSCC meeting is a new venture for this year with the focus on the popular mass-produced single-seater racing cars reminiscent of the 1960 to the late 1980s period, while the Classic Clubmans add some variety.

The Colchester-built Merlyns dominate the Historic FF1600 series with Michael O'Brien leading the way from Callum Grant, while adding some variety will be the Macon of Richard Tarling.

In the Historic FF2000s, Andrew Park has been beaten only once this season while Halesworth's Colin Wright will be hoping for a solid home result as will Chris Levy, from King's Lynn, in the concurrent URS section.

John Milicevic will be out to consolidate his Historic F3 series lead with his Brabham BT21B while the Lotus 22 normally rules the Formula Junior events against the Brabham and Lola runners.

You may also want to watch:

Classic Racing Cars, featuring James Denty from East Wretham in a Norfolk-built GRD, and the Classic Clubmans complete the programme, which starts at 11.20am.

The Bikesports conclude their championship on Sunday with Doug Cater looking over his shoulder at Phil Knob and Jon-Paul Ivey in the Class A battle while Stefano Leaney and Richard Webb defend a solid advantage in the Class B and C contests.

Most Read

Either Paul Boyd or Clive Hudson will be crowned Sport Specials Class A champion on Sunday with just six points separating the pair with two races remaining while Charles Hall and Stewart Mutch have all but sealed the Class B and C classes respectively.

A top-10 result in either of the 750 Formula races will confirm Bill Cowley as champion.

The Toyota MR2 championship will also be decided. Lewis Ward leads, but both Shaun Traynor and Ben Rowe would need to take both race wins to stand a chance of stealing the title. Completing the programme will be an Allcomers event plus Bernie's V8s/SR and GT Challenge with racing on the 300 layout getting underway at 11.50am.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus