Snetterton specialists miss out on double after drive through penalty

The victorious pair of Phil Keen and Jon Minshaw celebrate their win at Snetterton. Picture: Jakob E

The victorious pair of Phil Keen and Jon Minshaw celebrate their win at Snetterton. Picture: Jakob Ebrey. - Credit: Archant

Snetterton specialists Jon Minshaw and Phil Keen confirmed their pre-eminence at the Norfolk circuit by taking victory in the opening British GT race and were on course to complete a double until a late drive through penalty dropped the pair to sixth.

'It was our fault,' confirmed Mark Lemmer, team manager for Barwell Motorsport. 'We gave the win away for two tenths of a second.'

The Jonny Adam/Derek Johnston Aston Martin profited from the Minshaw/Keen error, with the Sam Tordoff/Liam Griffin Lamborghini Huracan claiming second place.

In the opening encounter Keen took over the Lamborghini Huracan from Minshaw who had worked hard to keep Jack Mitchell's Aston Martin Vantage in sight.

A tardy tyre change lost James Littlejohn, who took over from Mitchell, time but despite a stern defence Keen found a way past exiting Williams while Tordoff demoted the Aston Martin to third place to follow their team mates across the finishing line.

In the concurrent GT4 category the Ginetta G55s of William Tregurtha/Stuart Middleton and Alex Reed/David Pittard fought over the lead, with the former just edging it, while in the second race Sandy Mitchell/Ciaran Haggerty claimed the honours with their McLaren 570S.

James Pull and Toby Sowery made BRDC British Formula Three Championship leader Enaam Ahmed work hard for victory in the opening race, with Pull leading away from pole position.

Most Read

Ahmed tried a passing move at the opening corner only to find a rejuvenated Sowery grabbing his second place. Ahmed regained the position at Murray's on the second lap and then out-dragged Pull down the Bentley Straight to secure his fifth victory of the season.

In the reversed grid second race Jordan Cane and Cameron Das negotiated the opening four corners side by side before the former could shake himself free. Thereafter Cane, in his first weekend in the formula, controlled the race as Callan O'Keeffe closed in on Das in second but was never in a position to overtake. Ahmed led race three throughout to increase his overall lead with Sowery second.


British GT Championship, Race One: 1 Jon Minshaw/Phil Keen (Lamborghini Huracan); 2 Liam Griffin/Sam Tordoff (Lamborghini Huracan); 3 Jack Mitchell/James Littlejohn (Aston Martin Vantage); 4 Lee Mowle/Ryan Ratcliffe (Mercedes AMG); 5 Derek Johnston/Jonny Adam (Aston Martin Vantage); 6 Duncan Cameron/Matt Griffin (Ferrari 488). GT4 Winner. William Tregurtha/ Stuart Middleton (Ginetta G55).

Race Two: 1 Derek Johnston/Jonny Adam; 2 Liam Griffin/Sam Tordoff; 3 Mark Farmer/Jon Barnes (Aston Martin Vantage); 4 Rick Parfitt/Seb Morris (Bentley Continental); 5 Jack Mitchell/James Littlejohn; 6 Jon Minshaw/Phil Keen. GT4 Winner. Sandy Mitchel//Ciaran Haggerty (McLaren 570S).

BRDC British F3 Championship, Race One: 1 Enaam Ahmed; 2 James Pull; 3 Toby Sowery; 4 Callan O'Keefe; 5 Ben Hingeley; 6 Cameron Das.

Race Two: 1 Jordan Cane; 2 Cameron Das; 3 Callan O'Keefe; 4 Ben Hingeley; 5 Toby Sowery; 6 Enaam Ahmed.

Race Three: 1 Enaam Ahmed; 2 Toby Sowery; 3 James Pull; 4 Jordan Cane; 5 Callan O'Keefe; 6 Cameron Das.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter