Snetterton gets a battering as the big boys hit town

The trucks of Oly Janes (22) and Richard Collett (95), the winner of race tw. Picture: Ellen Tunstal

The trucks of Oly Janes (22) and Richard Collett (95), the winner of race tw. Picture: Ellen Tunstall - Credit: Archant

Mika Makinen dominated the Division 2 category of the British Truck Racing Championship as the Division 1 contenders bounced off each other – and the Snetterton scenery – in spectacular fashion.

Makinen blasted his Sisu away from pole position to secure victory in the opening Division 2 race on Saturday, but the Finn was unable to use his prodigious traction in the second wet encounter, and trailed in fifth, as Luke Garrett triumphed.

In Sunday's encounters Makinen completed a hat-trick of victories as he easily saw off the opposition while Bungay racer Jim Bennett finished a best of eighth place in race four.

The Division 1 racers needed three attempts on Saturday to run the opening race, won by Ryan Smith, with trucks left stranded around the circuit during earlier efforts.

An oil leak on Simon Reid's truck caused many incidents on Sunday morning with a delay for barrier repairs, while race two was stopped when Shane Brereton ended on top of Terry Gibbon's truck with David Jenkins also involved. The race was re-run, with Matt Summerfield triumphant.

You may also want to watch:

Multi-Legends title holder John Mickel was determined to get back to winning ways, having left the previous round empty-handed, and claimed three wins as he retook the series lead.

Ben Power journeyed to Norfolk as the series leader, but a puncture in race one plus a misfire and an oil leak in following events put him on the back foot until victory in the final race. Stephen Whitelegg and Sean Smith completed the winners. Paul Tompkins shook off the snarling pack of pickups to win the opening encounter from Scott Bourne who pulled off late passes on Mark Willis and Mel Collins to secure victory in race two.

Most Read

Max Marzorati belied his novice status to win the opening Renault Clio Cup Junior race but stalled at the start of race two which saw Ethan Hammerton triumph. Beetley's Ian Anderson won his Caterham category with partner Amanda Black second on Sunday as Sam Wilson, Glenn Burtenshaw, Jamie Ellwood and Luke Cooper prevailed overall.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter