Salute to stars of cricket season

The Norfolk Cricket League has honoured its stars of the season.

A campaign overshadowed by the wettest summer in the league's 41-year history had a silver lining as the key performers took centre stage at the league's annual dinner at the Mercure Hotel in Norwich.

The parade of team champions was led by Rollesby as Matt Duxbury's side lifted the Division One title for the second consecutive year.

Presentations were made by representatives of sponsors Lucas Fettes and league officials including president Tom Bartram, 95, who handed over the awards for the top individual performers.

The top batsman award went to Richard Stokes, who starred in a Caister team which finished bottom of Norfolk League Division One, by scoring 583 runs at an average of 97.17.

East Harling off-spinner Stuart Hilton won the top bowling award after taking 31 wickets at an average of 13.35 while Martham A's veteran Terry Blundell, 64, took the top wicket-keeper prize after claiming nine catches and 10 stumpings and scoring 485 runs. Ross Bilham of Cringleford Lodge was adjudged top all-rounder for 542 runs and 28 wickets.

The Under-19 awards went to a duo from the progressive Martham side which won Division Two at a canter as captain Alex Sayer won the top batsman prize (482 runs, av 48.2) and Jack Whatmough won the bowling award (28 wickets, av 10).

Most Read

Drayton won the Tony Gregory Spirit of Cricket Award for a record fourth time as a club. The award is named after their popular former club president and Norfolk League official, who tragically died after collapsing on a cricket pitch in 2009.


Spirit of Cricket: 1 Drayton (av 8.91, �200), 2 Bungay A (av 8.83, �150), 3 Eaton (av 8.62, �100).

Division One - winners Rollesby, runners-up Yarmouth. Batsman: Richard Stokes (Caister, 583, av 97.17); bowler: Stuart Hilton (East Harling, 31, av 13.35).

Division Two: winners Martham, runners-up Horsford B. Batsman: Wayne Catchpole (Happisburgh 531 av 48.27; bowler: Steve Howe (Happisburgh, 32 av 12.28).

Division Three: winners St Andrews, runners-up Hingham. Batsman: Sam Butcher (Eaton 549 av 137.25); bowler: Dominic Clarke (Eaton, 26 av 8.88).

Division Four: winners Blundeston, runners-up Hardingham A. Batsman: Dan Crawley (Winterton A, 408 av 40.80); bowler: Mike Banham (Old Buckenham B, 29 av 11.69).

Division Five: winners Colney, runners-up Garboldisham B. Batsman: James Rouse (Colney, 496 av 99.20), bowler: Simon Carding (Colney, 24 av 14.13).

Division Six: winners Reepham and Salle, runners-up North Elmham. Batsman: Steven Shoesmith (Brisley, 438 av 43.80), bowler dan Tipple (Reepham and Salle, 25 av 7.72).

Division Seven: winners Old Catton, runners-up Blundeston A. Batsman: David Fidler (Garboldisham C, 479 @ 59.88); bowler: Chris Shales (Martham A, 21 av 7.67).

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter