Rollesby get the jitters as Old Catton gain ground

Lucas Fettes Norfolk League: Rollesby are in danger of falling at the final hurdle in their quest to become Division One champions, following a 27-run defeat at Great Yarmouth on Saturday.

Steven Hak made 106 for the hosts and Tim Oxborough followed up with six for 28 to leave Rollesby still needing 12 points from their final game, against third-placed East Harling, to be sure of the title.

Old Catton are hoping to pip Rollesby at the post after gaining ground with a 12-run win against Cringleford Lodge, Glenn Fossey making 55.

A quick 40 from Drayton's Michael Breame ensured an early finish as they won in the 10th over after bowling relegated Shipdham out for 58.

Matt Bradley and Rob Smith shared eight wickets as Ketteringham Hall secured safety and condemned Hales & Loddon A to the drop.

You may also want to watch:

Bradley took four for 42 and Smith four for 49 as the Hales innings was based around a 75-run second wicket partnership between Trevor Shailes (50) and Jim Riseborough (42). Mark Smith top scored with 31 as Hall reached their target for the loss of six wickets in the 43rd over.

Mike Pill took four for 22 in East Harling's six-wicket win over Caister.

Most Read

Norwich Bystanders are champions of Division Two following their 27-run win at St Andrews.

In Division Three, champions Martham won by 167 runs against Great Yarmouth A.

Carl Smith (three for 15) and Jim Taylor (four for 13) helped Costessey secure second place with a six-wicket win against Eaton.

Kevin Burgess scored 71 to see Drayton A to a three-wicket win against Bungay A in the final over. Dave MacPhillie scored 58 for Bungay.

In Division Four, Norwich & Coltishall Wanderers A's Andrew Penton took five for 22 and James Browne hit 60 as they beat Norwich Bystanders A by four wickets.

Hingham took another step towards the title with a 133-run win at Old Catton A. Sam Guy (100) and Steven Guy (72) shared in a stand of 142 for Hingham.

Hardingham A's 15-run triumph over Old Buckenham B took them to the brink of the Division Five title.

In Division Six, Garboldisham B's title charge gathered pace with a nine-wicket win over Lowestoft C, while Stephan Malherbe hit 65 for North Elmham in a 10-wicket win against Felthorpe A.

Reepham & Salle were crowned Division Seven champions following a 23-run win against Bunwell.

Joe Hollis (89) and Paul Minns (56no) put on 194 for the second Reepham wicket, before Minns took five for 41 with the ball. Nick Aston (71) and Dean Parfitt (65) were Bunwell's top scorers.

In Division Eight, Tom Davey hit 64no in Diss B's 14-run victory over Martham A.

Gillingham were already champions, but they lost by 51 runs at home to Hemsby A.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter