McNamara masters Rollesbey’s twists and turns

Action at Rollesby, with Mike McNamara leading the fleet. Picture: Kevin Davidson

Action at Rollesby, with Mike McNamara leading the fleet. Picture: Kevin Davidson - Credit: Archant

With 24 boats on the water and a westerly wind, racing at Rollesby Broad SC was restricted to the club end of the broad.

Tight midfleet racing at Rollesby. Picture: Kevin Davidson

Tight midfleet racing at Rollesby. Picture: Kevin Davidson - Credit: Archant

In the 16-boat single hander fleet it might not have been much of a surprise to see multiple champion Mike McNamara leading the fleet on the water, albeit narrowly from returning winter member David Frary in his Finn. On a tight twisty course these two managed to gain just enough time on the chasing pack, led by Bob Hawkins' Solo and Tamsin Highfield's Streaker.

In race two McNamara once again won but Phil Highfield, having taken over the Streaker, stayed close enough to take second on handicap, by just one second, from Frary and Hawkins.

In the Multisails (eight boats) handicaps went out of the window as, apart from a brief period around the first windward mark, it was Ian and Sharon Ayres in their Leader who led throughout to finish some distance clear of Val and Ryan Hanson and John Symonds and Dave Houghton in their Wayfarers. Houghton and Symonds swapped roles for race two and had a close race with the Ayres until pulling clear to win as the wind dropped on the last lap.

At Waveney & Oulton Broad Yacht Club, the Squibs provided the biggest fleet with 12 boats, several racing for the first time in this winter series. Bryan and Jenny Riley in Brimstone won the first race by a comfortable margin, with David Gooch and Gilly Foulds in Penny B in second until the final leg to the finish when Ian Keely and Pete Matthews in Squibbo managed to sneak past and beat them by half a boat's length. There was a general recall at the start of the second race and this time it was Sophie, sailed by Chris Schonhut and Graham Reeve that led to the finish while Penny B was second and Richard Sullivan's Clever Dick third.

You may also want to watch:

As usual, Richard Fryer's RS400 was the first to finish in both Fast Handicap races, while the Phantoms of Ben Falat and Nick Favell were never far behind, but on corrected time Veronica Falat's Streaker took the wins. Both Slow Handicap races were won by James Nourse and 10-year-old Max Stratford in one of the club Wanderers.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter