Record number of sides in league

The annual meeting was held at Central Hall, Wymondham when seven new teams were elected, giving the league a record 59 sides for next season.

The new teams are Castle Acre Swifts Reserves, Litcham, Methwold Rovers Reserves, Methwold United, Walsingham United, Watton United A and Yaxham Reserves.

Dereham Cockers United were presented with the Sporting Award Shield, having achieved an excellent record with regard to disciplinary offences.

Bridgham United were named as the Club of the Year for their excellent season in which they won the League Championship and the Benevolent Cup and received the Ricky Brown Memorial Shield.

Heather Heslin, secretary of Sporle, received the Nigel Riches Memorial Shield as Secretary of the Year.

The club support, scheme which was based on disciplinary records for the past season, meant that 10 teams with the best records received cheques totalling �1,260 from the scheme pool.

The teams (in order of their share of the pool) were Dereham Cockers United, Hingham Athletic Reserves, Mattishall A, Castle Acre Swifts, North Elmham Reserves, Mulbarton Wanderers Reserves, Wendling, Methwold Rovers, Nostro Reserves and Shropham United Reserves.

Most Read

Rule changes approved at the meeting included an increase in the numbers in each division from 14 to 16, an increase of �1 to the annual subscription, a change to the deadline for management committee nominations, the setting of fixed fines for a number of breaches of rules, the adoption of using email for most league communications and a change to financial procedures.

There were no changes to the officer posts and the following were elected: President and chairman, Hector Chambers; deputy chairman, Dick Davey; secretary/treasurer, John Turner; deputy secretary, Mick Utting; match officer David Sewell.

For the first time for many years, there was an election for seats on the management committee.

Elected were: Simon Bell, Jason Evans, Barry Manser, Alan Saxby, Malcolm Stebbings, Keith Vertigan and Phil Williamson.

The constitution of the league is:

• First Division: Bridgham Utd, Dereham Town A, Fakenham Town A, Feltwell Utd, Gressenhall, Morley Village, Narborough, Northwold S&SC, Rockland Utd, Shipdham, Shropham Utd, Swaffham Town A, Tacolneston, Thetford Rovers Res.

• Second Division: Breckland Wanderers, Castle Acre Swifts, Cockers, Gressenhall Res, Hethersett Athletic, Methwold Rovers, Necton, North Elmham, Nostro, Saham Toney Res, Sporle, Thurton & Ashby, West End, Yaxham.

• Third Division: Bawdeswell, Colkirk, Diss Town A, Great Cressingham, Hingham Athletic Res, Marham Wanderers, Mattishall A, Mulbarton Wand Res, Narborough Res, Rampant Horse, Rockland Utd Res, Scarning Utd, Splitz Utd, Stoke Ferry, Tugas Utd, Wendling.

• Fourth Division: Beetley Utd, Castle Acre Swifts Res, Dereham Cockers Utd, Litcham, Methwold Rovers Res, Methwold Utd, North Elmham Res, Nostro Res, Shipdham Res, Shropham Utd Res, Tacolneston Res, Walsingham Utd, Watton Utd A, Weasenham Wanderers, Yaxham Res.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter