Rare night race at Snetterton will decide Lotus Cup UK Championship winners

Tristan Cliffe, left, faces the camera.

Tristan Cliffe, left, faces the camera. - Credit: Archant

Snetterton's only night race of the season takes place on Saturday when the Lotus Cup UK Championship will be settled in a two-hour night-time event.

With points awarded at the end of each hour, several drivers can win the SuperSport or Production titles, making for an entertaining contest.

In the former category, Adrian Hall has a seven-point advantage over Adam Knight, when dropped scores are factored in, with Simon Deacon, Marcus Jewell and Adam Balon still having a strong chance of claiming the title.

In the Production Class, Adam Gore has a healthy advantage over Anthony Dunn and Stuart Ratcliff, who are separated by a single point, while fourth-placed Richard Hywell-Evans has engaged BTCC racer Jack Goff as his co-driver.

Attleborough's Steffan Donnelly, son of former Grand Prix racer Martin, will share the driving duties with Peter Mansfield and will be hoping to finish in the points.

You may also want to watch:

A 30-car entry has been received for the final two Elise Trophy events this year with Adam Gore already confirmed as champion.

Terrington St Clement's Seth Walpole will be hoping for a clean run at his local circuit, which has not been kind to him in the recent past, but he just needs to outscore Ryan Savage by a single point to secure 10th place in the series.

Most Read

The Lotus Cup UK Speed Championship contenders have three runs to post the fastest time on approximately two-thirds of the 300 circuit with Xavier Brooke and David Mann leading in the two groups this year.

A Track Attack Autumn Trophy plus a Formula 1 car demonstration completes the action, which starts at 11.35am and finishes in darkness at 6.20pm.

Consistency proves the key for Cliffe

Tristian Cliffe's Omicron Motorsport squad claimed the F3 Cup Teams Championship after two consistence races for the Mulbarton driver at Snetterton.

Cliffe's team needed 10 points from the two events to ensure they claimed the title for the second time in three years and he raced home to a pair of fourth places to ensure the trophy returned to Norfolk.

Both races were won by Henry Chart while a pair of third places for Louis Hamilton-Smith secured third place behind Cliffe and new champion Toby Sowery.

The Production BMW title was decided in favour of Stuart Waite, who won the opening event but was denied a double after Gary Feakins demoted him late on in race two, although Waite still had enough in hand to beat Harry Goodman, who could record only two third places.

It was a family affair in the Toyo Tires Racing Saloons, with Matt Seldon winning the first encounter while father Peter followed him home, with the positions reversed in race two.

Oliver Withington made his racing debut in the MSVT Trackday event and set the fastest lap while taking victory alongside co-driver Guy Pettit, making it a memorable day.

Adam and Ben U'Ren raced to victory in the Team Trophy, wondering if they would again break down in the closing stages as they had earlier in the season at Snetterton while heading for the chequered flag.

The Atom Cup victories went to Martin James, twice, while the third race was secured by Andrew Smith.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter