Photo gallery: Norfolk Cricket League’s annual awards in Norwich

Martham's Jack Whatmough receives the President's Bowler Award. Picture: Bev Harrison.

Martham's Jack Whatmough receives the President's Bowler Award. Picture: Bev Harrison. - Credit: Archant

The Norfolk Cricket League dished out their end of season awards at a presentation dinner at the Hotel Mercure in Norwich.

Nearly 200 guests attended the event, which kicked off with the Tony Gregory Spirit of Cricket Award, which was won by Rollesby with an astonishing average of 9.14 out of 10 over the season.

This earned them a £200 cash prize while Bungay A, who were runners-up, collected £150. East Harling and Ketteringham Hall shared third place and £100.

The monthly awards were presented next, with the highlight being the August award for Geoff Vincent of Eaton, who took his 900th league wicket, which is unlikely to ever be overhauled.

All divisional winners and runners-up received a certificate and individual player medals, and special mention to Great Ellingham and Gillingham, who both enjoyed unbeaten seasons. Overall champions for the first time were Great Yarmouth, who celebrated long into the night.

There were awards given out to the divisional best batsmen and bowlers, and history was created by Sarah McGahan of Garboldisham, who became the first female recipient of an individual award for her 29 wickets in Division Seven.

Finally, there were awards for U19 Batsman and Bowler of the Year, who were Connor Ingram (Blundeston) and Jack Noakes (Great Yarmouth).

Most Read

Jack Whatmough of Martham earned himself the President's Bowler Award for his 42 wickets in Division One, while Sajid Ali grabbed the President's All-Rounder Award for scoring 585 runs and taking 42 wickets for Belton in their Division Two championship season. Steven Hak rounded off the evening by picking up the President's Batsman and Wicket-Keeper Awards for his 834 runs and 37 victims behind the timbers for champions Great Yarmouth.

n The Norfolk Cricket League held their annual general meeting on November 21 and there were a few significant changes.

On the committee, Robert Breeze of Happisburgh replaces Chris Alger as complaints secretary.

Five teams were elected to Division Eight: Beetley, Southwold, Dereham B, Mundford A and Beeston, giving the league eight full divisions of 10 teams.

The major rule change voted in saw the change from average points to total points. For no results, five points will be awarded along with any bonus points gained in incomplete matches.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter