Photo gallery: Elite League: King’s Lynn Stars 60, Birmingham Brummies 32

Rob Lyon and (R) Rory Schlein. Picture: Ian Burt

Rob Lyon and (R) Rory Schlein. Picture: Ian Burt - Credit: IAN BURT

Unstoppable Lynn destroyed Birmingham and smashed a host of speedway records in the process on a historical night at the Norfolk Arena.

The Stars' 11th win on the trot was a club best – beating a run set 30 years ago – and replaced Poole Pirates' 2012 effort as the finest start to an Elite League season since the play-offs were introduced in 2002. If that wasn't enough, it was also the hosts' biggest home win of 2014 and Nicklas Porsing's first maximum in England.

Once in a generation a team comes along who sweep all aside before them and the way things are going that team could be Lynn. Maybe they can also go on to win their first top-flight crown? Maybe they won't. But for the moment who cares?

It was an evening to say 'I was there' as Lynn continued their hottest streak in the club's 49-year history. And the victory never looked like it was in danger – even when Niels-Kristian Iversen packed up in heat one, for the second week running.

The basement-boy Brummies had already lost on their own shale to Lynn twice and just couldn't live with the rampant league leaders. It was like men against boys. Even 16-year-old Robert Lambert could afford to come back from third to pick up his race win in the performance of the night.

You may also want to watch:

In the grand scheme of things it was fairly routine for Rob Lyon's play-off certainties. They ran in six max 5-1s and only lost one race all night. In their defence, that came as a result of a tactical ride with Danny King going for double points.

If it hadn't been for that man, the Midlanders' hammering could have been even more brutal. His impressive haul of 13 saved his troops from being on the end of a drubbing that would have been far greater than the 28 points it was.

Most Read

Unlike last week there was little controversy and drama on the track. But there was a fair bit off of it when the power tripped out in the referee's box forcing the fixture to be delayed. Yet even that electrical hiccup couldn't stop Lynn from powering to another home triumph and extending their unbeaten Saddlebow Road record this term.

As riders wrote their name into folklore, Porsing produced his finest performance in a Stars race jacket to date to continue his improvement. The young Dane gated well, looked quick and rode some beautiful lines. With every win his confidence grew and Lyon used his nous to hand him his maiden outing in heat 15.

The second-string won the nominated ride, followed home by skipper Rory Schlein, to put the gloss on Lynn's latest win. And it's one that sees Iversen, Porsing, Schlein, Lambert, Kenneth Bjerre, Lewis Kerr and Lewis Rose better the string of successes that was achieved by Dave Jessup, Kevin Jolly, John Louis, Steve Regeling, Keith Bloxsome, Richard Hellsen and Martin Dixon.

Whether the current crop is better than the 1984 select, who knows? One thing is for certain, this 11-match spell hasn't included any 'Challenge' matches. So perhaps the record now holds more substance. But in the grand scheme of things who really cares? Now is the time to sit back and enjoy one of the greatest Lynn teams of all time who are quite frankly an absolute pleasure to watch when they're in this sort of mood.

Lynn: N-K Iversen 7+2, N Porsing 15, R Schlein 12+2, R Lambert 5+1, K Bjerre 8+1, L Kerr 9+2, L Rose 4

Birmingham: D King 13, T Jorgensen 4+1, N Covatti 5+1, B Barker 3+1, D Halsey 0, S Lambert 7+1

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter