Pair claim double triumph at Rollesby

A gloriously sunny Remembrance Sunday, blessed with a light breeze, encouraged over 50 boats to turn out and, after the customary two minute silence, sailing got under way.

Rollesby continued their Autumn series and concluded their Eels Foot races with diagonal beats spoilt only by calm patches at the extremities.

John Saddington and Dennis Manning pulled out a large lead as they alone made the first mark without tacking and stayed in front, while John Symonds and Dave Houghton deployed their asymmetric rig to good effect to take second. From the melee remaining a dead heat emerged between the Hansons' Wayfarer and the Ayres' Leader.

Saddington and Manning triumphed again in the second race, this time the hard way after a poor start, ahead of the Hansons.

Meanwhile Roger Wilson was dominating the largely Solo dinghy fleet. The afternoon Eels Foot race was key, with Barry Graver (Solo) and Saddington both in the frame. Graver had a cracking start but Saddington's superior boat speed soon told, and the becalmed narrows were not the place for Graver to find the lack of a permitted paddle! Roger Wilson came through to win, but Graver did just enough to cling to second and overall success, while Ian and Sharon Ayres' nifty spinnaker work put them third.

Snowflakes saw 19 boats, 14 of them Yeomans presumably warming up for their Open meeting this Sunday. Patrick Richardson and Julia Bennett won the first race from Roger and Paul Claxton, but only after recovering from turns to take the honours by seven seconds. Generally there was a decent wind up to force 3 between Swan reach and the Broad entrance.

Steve Cliffe and Chris Hanson also had a good day, while new members A Gallant and P Luxford gained a last race second behind Ian Hanson and Q Stewart. In the largely Laser dinghy fleet Jo Moore's Splash battled hard with Jonas Osborn and Kim West, each earning a win.

Most Read

Ian Tims and Martin Devlin started well in Frostbites' 11 strong Norfolk fleet, but fell victim to one of the dead patches under the trees when Kevin and Ellie Edwards came through to take control, and David and Kate Mackley likewise moved up from 11th at the start to take third gun.

John Atkinson and Leona Levine made a flying start in the handicap race, but, again, the dead patches proved their downfall and saw them slip behind Tims and Devlin, whose two minute lead over Ray Johnson and Jan Hubbard wasn't quite enough to prevent them from winning on handicap, with Tims second.

Kevin Postlethwaite made the most of Hickling's wind to win the first two races, with Greg Northmore taking two thirds. In the final race Chris Barker's Laser Standard took the honours after a second race second.

• There was some close racing at Buckenham. Ben Fisher and Ben Chapman got ahead of the fleet in Javelin Quicksilver and managed to take line honours and hold their position on corrected time in both races. Jim Frost in Phantom Skylark was seconds behind. Phil Gooch and Trevor Whittacker in Solos Witchway and Skybird swapped places several times and in the second race a port starboard incident let Witchway through to finish ahead of Skybird.