Over 20 clubs enter Norfolk Association of Cricket Officials NACO Cup and Shield

Entries for the Norfolk Association of Cricket Officials NACO Cup and Shield have closed after a positive response to the return of the tournaments.

More than 20 clubs will be split between the two competitions.

'On behalf of the Norfolk Umpires Association I would say that we are delighted with the response we have received to this very popular competition and our grateful thanks are extended to the sponsors who wish to remain anonymous,' said competition co-ordinator David Coe.

Although the closing date has officially expired the Umpires Association would still consider entrants; any club wishing to do so should forward their entries to davidcoe1@btinternet.com or text/phone 07901 717255 or 01508 480048. Prize money is: NACO Cup winners £300, runners-up £100; Shield winners £200, runners-up £100. The sides that have entered the NACO Cup are: Downham Town, Sprowston, holders Old Buckenham, Diss, Fakenham, North Runcton, Ashmanaugh & Barton Wanderers, Lowestoft Town, Brooke, Acle, Beccles, Topcroft, Garboldisham & Vauxhall Mallards A.

NACO Shield: Horsford A, Rocklands, Dersingham, Winterton, Martham, Snettisham and Anglians, who play at Sprowston.

The draw for the competitions will be made on Tuesday, January 7 at 7.30pm at Sprowston Cricket Club and all clubs are invited to send a representative.