Norwich City’s worst ever top-flight start

Norwich City need to recover from their poorest start to a top-flight season if they are to climb the Premier League table.

Saturday's 5-2 home defeat by Liverpool left the Canaries in the bottom three with just three points from a possible 18.

In 23 seasons in either Division One or the Premier League, stretching back four decades, it is only the second time City have failed to win any of their first six matches – though they have had two victories in the League Cup.

The last time it happened was in 2004-05, when Nigel Worthington's team did not register a victory until their 14th match, but their start was fractionally better with four draws in the first six games, compared to three draws this time.

Manager Chris Hughton must prepare his side for the trip to leaders and European champions Chelsea on Saturday, followed by a visit from Arsenal a fortnight later – not the ideal opposition as City search for that first league win.

After the Liverpool defeat, he said: 'You're always concerned the longer it goes, the longer it is without that first win, but you have to get a response and demand a response from the players, irrespective of where the game is. Whether it's here or whether it's away from home, whether it's top of the table or whatever, you have to look for a response.'

But he added that there was a very long way to go for the Canaries. He said: 'This season is not over. It's not about six, seven, eight or 10 games. It's about a season's worth of games and we need to make sure we're picking up the points, the sooner the better.'

Most Read

At the same stage last season, City were ninth in the table with eight points from the first six games on their return to the Premier League. They finished 12th in May.

In 2004-05, Worthington's team took until November 20 to record their first win, beating Southampton 2-1 at Carrow Road.

They were eventually relegated, finishing 19th, despite winning four of their last seven games.


• Division One (2 points for a win)

1972-73: 8

1973-74: 5

1975-76: 6

1976-77: 3

1977-78: 6

1978-79: 7

1979-80: 8

1980-81: 4

• Division One (3 points for a win)

1982-83: 6

1983-84: 5

1984-85: 6

1986-87: 11

1987-88: 7

1988-89: 13

1989-90: 10

1990-91: 6

1991-92: 7

• Premier League (3 points for a win)

1992-93: 13

1993-94: 11

1994-95: 9

2004-05: 4

2011-12: 8

2012-13: 3