Norwich City’s Wes Hoolahan named in Republic of Ireland provisional squad for Euro 2016 qualifier

Norwich City midfielder Wes Hoolahan has been named in the Republic of Ireland's provisional 35-man

Norwich City midfielder Wes Hoolahan has been named in the Republic of Ireland's provisional 35-man squad for an upcoming Euro2016 qualifier against Poland. Picture by Paul Chesterton/Focus Images Ltd - Credit: Paul Chesterton/Focus Images Ltd

Norwich City midfielder Wes Hoolahan is in the Republic of Ireland's provisional 35-man squad for an upcoming Euro 2016 qualifier against Poland.

Hoolahan was initially omitted from the squad list unveiled by Martin O'Neill on Thursday morning, but the FAI later added Hoolahan's name after what has been reported in the Irish media as an 'administrative error'.

The Dubliner has scored two international goals in 17 appearances and has been an ever-present in O'Neill's squad during the current qualifying campaign.

The Republic go into the match against the Poles on March 29 in Dublin three points behind the Group D leaders after four games played, in a pool which also features Scotland and World Champions Germany.

Former City midfielder Anthony Pilkington is also included and Bournemouth's Harry Arter gets his first potential call-up for the game.

You may also want to watch:

The final squad will be reduced ahead of the players assembling for the crucial qualifying fixture on March 22.

'We have reached a very important time in our qualifying campaign,' said O'Neill. 'I am looking forward to assembling the squad for the first time this year in preparation for the game. Poland are a very strong team, they've obviously got off to a great start. Confidence is obviously very high there. They look up to the task. It will be a tough game for us.'

Most Read

• Republic of Ireland provisional squad

David Forde (Millwall FC), Shay Given (Aston Villa FC), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday FC), Darren Randolph (Birmingham City FC), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United FC), Richard Keogh (Derby County FC), Marc Wilson (Stoke City FC), Seamus Coleman (Everton FC), Cyrus Christie (Derby County FC), John O'Shea (Sunderland AFC), Alex Pearce (Reading FC), Paul McShane (Hull City FC), James McCarthy (Everton FC), Jeff Hendrick (Derby County FC), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa FC), Stephen Ward (Burnley FC), Harry Arter (AFC Bournemouth), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City FC), Darron Gibson (Everton FC), Paul Green (Rotherham United FC), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), Aiden McGeady (Everton FC), Anthony Pilkington (Cardiff City FC), James McClean (Wigan Athletic FC), Robbie Brady (Hull City FC), Stephen Quinn (Hull City FC), David Meyler (Hull City FC), Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Shane Long (Southampton FC), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich Town FC), Jon Walters (Stoke City FC), Kevin Doyle (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC), Anthony Stokes (Celtic FC), Simon Cox (Reading FC), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town FC).

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus