Norwich City date for Italian side Parma

Italian side Parma will provide Norwich City with their final warm-up before the Premier League season gets under way.

The Serie A side have been confirmed as City's opponents on Saturday, August 6 – seven days before the new campaign begins.

Parma, whose best-known player is Argentinian veteran Hernan Crespo, finished 12th in Italy's senior division last season and were Coppa Italia finalists, losing 3-1 to Inter in the final.

Their trip to Carrow Road will be the last leg of a British tour, which also includes Cardiff, Luton and QPR. The northern city is home to the sports clothing manufacturing company Errea, who have supplied the Canaries new playing kit.

City's only other home game is also against continental opponents, with Spanish side Real Zaragoza visiting on Wednesday, August 3.

• City's pre-season schedule: Saturday, July 16 (3pm) Gorleston (A); Tuesday, July 19 (7.30pm) Wroxham v City XI; Thursday, July 21 (7.30pm) Histon v City XI; Tuesday, July 26 (7.30pm) Crystal Palace (A); Thursday, July 28 (7.30pm) Southend United (A); Saturday, July 30 (3pm) Coventry City (A); Wednesday, August 3 (7.30pm) Real Zaragoza (H); Thursday, August 4 (7.30pm) Billericay v City XI; Saturday, August 6 (3pm) Parma FC (H); Wednesday, August 10 (2pm) Liverpool Res v City XI.

• The sports team are at it again – signings, toxic shirts, Parma ham, goal celebration music and, of course, fixtures.

Most Read

It's all on the latest podcast at www.pinkun.com/podcast.