Curtis takes silverware as youngsters take centre stage at Norwich Frostbite SC

George Curtis establishing a commanding lead during the Junior Challenge Cup race at Norwich Frostbi

George Curtis establishing a commanding lead during the Junior Challenge Cup race at Norwich Frostbite Sailing Club. Picture: Sue Grief - Credit: Archant

Five young sailors, aged between nine and 15, sailed in the Junior Challenge Cup race at Norwich Frostbite Sailing Club.

The annual race has recently been opened to sailors from other clubs and is traditionally sailed in Norfolk One Design Dinghies – for some it was the first time they had helmed a boat of this class.

A handicap system based on the age of the helm is used to calculate the results.

Having established a lead in the first lap, George Curtis, sailing B 64, maintained this position to claim the trophy, coming in first, both on the water and on handicap. George, who sails regularly at Beccles Amateur Sailing Club, was crewed by Glen Curtis. After a long battle with Charlie White in B 78, Hugo Blyth in B53, also from BASC, pulled ahead to come in second on the water, but lost out to the younger sailors on handicap. Lizzy Ford, the youngest competitor, and holder of the trophy, came in a close second on handicap, sailing in B6, followed by Harry White in B71, in third.

Rollesby held their frostbite regatta with a fresh wind from the north. In the first race the small multi-sail four-boat fleet was led by Chris Sallis in his D1, but Dave Houghton and John Symonds, in their Wayfarer, won on handicap.

When the larger single sail fleet started the strength of the wind was increasing and on the first-lap spectators were treated to the sight of 14 single handers planning on a run down the broad. Alas this was not to last as a vicious gust caused multiple capsizes. With nine boats over, some with masts in the mud, the rescue boat crew of Paul Warnes and Nick Whittle had their work cut out. In spite of doing turns at the first mark Roger Wilson prevailed and won the race in his solo followed by another solo helmed by Matt Boreham.

There was a much reduced turnout for the second race. In the multi-sail fleet John Saddington and Dennis Manning crossed the line first in the Albacore but Houghton and Symonds in the Wayfarer were not far behind to take first in the race and the regatta trophy. In the single sail fleet six boats went out and Dan Harvey won the race in the club Pico, followed by Matt Boreham and Roger Wilson. With Wilson and Boreham both on four points countback was required to give Wilson the single sail trophy

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter